Johnson, Busch, Hornaday nominated for ESPYS

Three NASCAR drivers will bring the competition from the track to the 2010 ESPYS as they square off against one another in the Best Driver category, with one vying for the elite honor of Best Male Athlete.

The winners of these and other categories will be announced at the 18th annual performance sports awards ceremony in Los Angeles on July 14.

Four-time consecutive Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson received a pair of nods for Best Male Athlete and Best Driver. In the latter category, Johnson is a back-to-back winner, looking for his third straight win. But Johnson faces competition this year from reigning Nationwide Series champion Kyle Busch and four-time Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday. The trio of stockcar drivers will compete against two-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion and former NASCAR driver Dario Franchitti and six-time NHRA champion Tony Schumacher.

In the Best Male Athlete category, Johnson, a repeat nominee, is up against Drew Brees, Super Bowl-winning quarterback of the New Orleans Saints; basketball players Kobe Bryant of the L.A. Lakers and LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers; and baseball player Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals.

Voting for the 2010 ESPYS started today, June 24, and will continue through July 10. Fans can vote by logging onto or on the awards' Facebook page.

The 2010 ESPYS will be televised live from the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles on Wednesday, July 14, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. Seth Meyers from "Saturday Night Live" will host.

Johnson, Busch, Hornaday nominated for ESPYS Johnson, Busch, Hornaday nominated for ESPYS Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Thursday, June 24, 2010 Rating: 5