Logano continues Kentucky dominance (NNS)

By Lee Montgomery
Special to the Sporting News NASCAR Wire Service
(June 12, 2010)

SPARTA, Ky.—Joey Logano remained perfect in the NASCAR Nationwide Series at Kentucky Speedway, winning the Meijer 300 from the pole on Saturday night.

Logano had lost the lead on two restarts late in the race but was able to power back to the top spot each time.

The first was with 44 laps to go when Mike Bliss took the lead, but after an extended caution period, Logano got back out front on Lap 169 of 200.

The second came when Brendan Gaughan charged around the outside after a restart on Lap 175, but Gaughan slipped off Turn 4 a lap later, and Logano again regained the lead.

Logano then held off a late charge from Carl Edwards to win for the third time at Kentucky.

Logano, 20, has won the pole and the race every time he has raced at the 1.5-mile track. The victory in 2008 was his first in one of NASCAR’s national series.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series double-duty drivers swept the top three positions, as Edwards finished second and NASCAR Nationwide Series points leader Brad Keselowski was third. Edwards moved up one spot in the standings to second, and is 272 points behind Keselowski.

Gaughan finished fourth, with Reed Sorenson fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Steve Wallace, Scott Wimmer, Justin Allgaier, Scott Riggs and Raybestos Rookie Colin Braun.

Meijer 300 race results:

1. Joey Logano   
2. Carl Edwards   
3. Brad Keselowski   
4. Brendan Gaughan   
5. Reed Sorenson   
6. Steve Wallace   
7. Scott Wimmer   
8. Justin Allgaier   
9. Scott Riggs
10. Colin Braun *   
11. Trevor Bayne   
12. Jeremy Clements   
13. Brad Coleman   
14. Brian Ickler   
15. Josh Wise   
16. Scott Lagasse Jr.
17. Shelby Howard   
18. Coleman Pressley   
19. Tony Raines   
20. Jeff Green   
21. Mike Wallace   
22. Kenny Wallace   
23. Jason Keller   
24. Mike Bliss   
25. Joe Nemechek   
26. Derrike Cope   
27. Sean Caisse   
28. Michael McDowell   
29. Eric McClure   
30. Robert Richardson Jr.   
31. Brian Scott *   
32. Paul Menard   
33. Jason Leffler   
34. Michael Annett   
35. Tayler Malsam   
36. Willie Allen   
37. Morgan Shepherd   
38. Kevin Lepage
39. Chase Miller   
40. Mark Green   
41. Danny O'Quinn Jr.   
42. Matt Carter   
43. Dennis Setzer


PHOTO: Grant Halverson / Getty Images
Logano continues Kentucky dominance (NNS) Logano continues Kentucky dominance (NNS) Reviewed by Admin on Sunday, June 13, 2010 Rating: 5