No clear cut favorites for this year's Sprint Cup

Hit the reset button on the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season, because the Chase for the Sprint Cup is about to begin. The slate has been wiped somewhat clean for the top-12 drivers who will battle for the Cup. While the points have been reset to a base 5000 points for each of the 12 drivers, they do get to carry their wins earned in the first 26 races of the season with them into the Chase in the form of 10 bonus points for each trip to victory lane.

With bonus points awarded, the drivers making up this year’s Chase were shuffled around in the points standings, so much so that Denny Hamlin, who was 10th in points, jumped to the points lead on the strength of six wins—the most of any driver so far this season. Meanwhile, former points leader Kevin Harvick dropped from the top spot to a tie with Kyle Busch for third—each driver having three wins so far in 2010.

With 10 races to go to determine this year’s champion who’s a favorite? Are there even any favorites? The last few years Jimmie Johnson seemed to be one of—if not the—favorite heading into the Chase stretch. And year after year (four to be exact) Johnson made good on his favorite status by claiming the champion’s trophy at season’s end.

To read more, visit Auto Racing Daily.

Photo courtesy of NASCAR Media.
No clear cut favorites for this year's Sprint Cup No clear cut favorites for this year's Sprint Cup Reviewed by Amanda Vincent on Tuesday, September 14, 2010 Rating: 5