Sprint Cup Pole Report: Edwards Breaks Track Record Winning Pole

CarlEdwardsPIR Carl Edwards, driver of the No. 99 Aflac Ford Fusion, broke Phoenix International Raceway’s track record with a lap of 26.395 (136.389 mph.) for the Kobalt Tools 500 during Friday's qualifying session. To finish out the front row is A.J. Allmendinger, only 0.027 behind Edwards in the Insignia HDTV/Best Buy Ford for Richard Petty Motorsports, who did not know what to expect for this weekend when it came to cars in which they would be racing. 

It is the second to last race of the season. Kurt Busch will be handing over the keys to the Miller Lite Blue Deuce to Brad Keselowski before taking over the No. 22 Pennzoil Dodge for Penske Racing starting in2011. Lots of teams though are trying to win before the end of the season to make a statement in the sport of NASCAR.  But after the race last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, you just never know what could happen.  

Now when it comes to the Chase, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick are only 59 points within one another in the top three spots of the Chase. Who do you think of these three will win some major points in hopes to win the championship this weekend and next?

For all the racing action all weekend long, keep checking back Skirts and Scuffs under the events area on the main page of the site. You can catch the NASCAR Countdown on ESPN starting at 2 p.m. EST with the main race coverage starting at 3 p.m. EST with the green flag from Phoenix Raceway International at 3:15 p.m.!
  1. Carl Edwards
  2. A.J. Allmendinger
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Jamie McMurray
  6. David Reutimann
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Regan Smith
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Martin Truex, Jr.
  12. David Ragan
  13. Marcos Ambrose
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Sam Hornish Jr.
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Ryan Newman
  20. Tony Stewart
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Jeff Gordon
  23. Elliott Sadler
  24. Casey Mears
  25. Kasey Kahne
  26. Bobby Labonte
  27. Scott Speed
  28. Mark Martin
  29. Kevin Harvick
  30. Brad Keselowski
  31. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. J.J. Yeley
  34. Robby Gordon
  35. Juan Montoya
  36. Mike Bliss
  37. David Gilliland
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Landon Cassill
  40. Jeff Burton
  41. Brendan Gaughan
  42. Tony Raines
  43. Terry Labonte
Sprint Cup Pole Report: Edwards Breaks Track Record Winning Pole Sprint Cup Pole Report: Edwards Breaks Track Record Winning Pole Reviewed by Unknown on Friday, November 12, 2010 Rating: 5