Trevor Bayne Makes History in Record-Setting Daytona 500

Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR
 In a record-breaking day at Daytona International Speedway, Trevor Bayne broke a record of his own by becoming the youngest winner of the Daytona 500. After a record number of cautions (16) and losing his drafting partner in David Ragan, due to Ragan being black-flagged for an improper restart, Bayne survived all the carnage and won in only his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start.

Bayne, driving for the iconic #21 for Wood Brothers Racing, paid tribute to Hall of Famer David Pearson with his paint scheme.  This win is the first win for Wood Brothers Racing since 2001.

“If I tried to put it into words, I wouldn’t be doing it any justice that’s for sure,” said Bayne. “I tell you what, I couldn’t ask to be sitting up there with any better guys than three that are up here and then Glen and Leonard who laid the foundation for this whole thing. If it wasn’t for these guys, there is no way I’d be sitting up here.”
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

Carl Edwards finished right behind Bayne in second and said, although he would have obviously loved to win the Daytona 500, he was happy for Bayne.

“He's about to have the greatest week of his life,” said Edwards. “I mean, until he has children, I will never forget my first win. I hope I never forget it. The next day I went to New York, rang the bell at the Stock Exchange. I didn't even have any stock. It was a whirlwind for me, and I won a race -- I didn't win the Daytona 500.”

David Gilliland came home in the third position, followed by Bobby Labonte in fourth, and Budweiser Shootout champion Kurt Busch in fifth.

A record-setting day at Daytona also saw a record number of leaders (22) and lead changes (74). Two-car drafts played a big role in the race, but big packs were still seen several times throughout the race, especially on restarts.

Ryan Newman led the most laps, leading 9 times for 37 laps. He wound up finishing 22nd.

Here is the complete finishing order for the Daytona 500:

2. Carl Edwards
3. David Gilliland
4. Bobby Labonte
5. Kurt Busch
6. Juan Pablo Montoya
7. Regan Smith
8. Kyle Busch
9. Paul Menard
10. Mark Martin
11. A.J. Allmendinger
12. Bill Elliott
13. Tony Stewart
14. David Ragan
15. Terry Labonte
16. Robby Gordon
17. Clint Bowyer
18. Jamie McMurray
19. Martin Truex Jr
20. Steven Wallace
21. Denny Hamlin
22. Ryan Newman
23. Joey Logano
24. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
25. Kasey Kahne
26. Dave Blaney
27. Jimmie Johnson
28. Jeff Gordon
29. Brad Keselowski
30. David Reutimann
31. Brian Vickers
32. Travis Kvapil
33. Andy Lally
34. Matt Kenseth
35. Greg Biffle
36. Jeff Burton
37. Marcos Ambrose
38. Robert Richardson Jr
39. Joe Nemechek
40. Michael Waltrip
41. Brian Keselowski
42. Kevin Harvick
43. JJ Yeley
Trevor Bayne Makes History in Record-Setting Daytona 500 Trevor Bayne Makes History in Record-Setting Daytona 500 Reviewed by Summer Dreyer on Sunday, February 20, 2011 Rating: 5