Daytona 500 Pole Report: Lineup Before the Gatorade Duels

1. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
2. Jeff Gordon
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Paul Menard
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Jeff Burton
7. Ryan Newman
8. Mark Martin
9. Tony Stewart
10. Greg Biffle
11. Kurt Busch
12. Juan Pablo Montoya
13. Marcos Ambrose
14. Kevin Harvick
15. Jimmie Johnson
16. David Ragan
17. Bill Elliott
18. Carl Edwards
19. A.J. Allmendinger
20. Travis Kvapil
21. Joe Nemechek
22. Matt Kenseth
23. David Reutimann
24. Brad Keselowski
25. Michael Waltrip
26. Dave Blaney
27. Jamie McMurray
28. Regan Smith
29. Kasey Kahne
30. Kyle Busch
31. Bobby Labonte
32. Brian Vickers
33. Martin Truex Jr.
34. Joey Logano
35. Todd Bodine
36. Kevin Conway
37. Casey Mears
38. David Gilliland
39. Steve Wallace
40. Michael McDowell
41. Robby Gordon
42. Terry Labonte
43. Robert Richardson Jr.
44. Denny Hamlin
45. J.J. Yeley
46. Andy Lally
47. Derrike Cope
48. Brian Keselowski

Denny Hamlin is low on the list because his steering wheel locked to the left while he was making his qualifying run and he went through the grass.

Jamie McMurray is so low on the list because he was in a backup car after scraping the wall in practice on Saturday.

How the Gatorade Duels play into starting spots for the Daytona 500:

The Gatorade Duels are unique to the Daytona 500. The field will be split in half and each half will run a 150-lap race to grab the third and fourth spots behind the pole-sitter and the outside pole-sitter (Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon for this race). Everyone else will be determined in terms of their finish in the Gatorade Duels. The first race will fill the odd numbered starting spots and the second race will finish the even starting spots.

Drivers in the first duel:
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Paul Menard
Ryan Newman
Mark Martin
Tony Stewart
Kurt Busch
Juan Pablo Montoya
Marcos Ambrose
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Bill Elliott
A.J. Allmendinger
Joe Nemechek
Matt Kenseth
Dave Blaney
Regan Smith
Kasey Kahne
Bobby Labonte
Brian Vickers
Kevin Conway
David Gilliland
Michael McDowell
J.J. Yeley
Andy Lally

Drivers in the second duel:
Jeff Gordon
Trevor Bayne
Clint Bowyer
Jeff Burton
Greg Biffle
David Ragan
Carl Edwards
Travis Kvapil
David Reutimann
Brad Keselowski
Michael Waltrip
Jamie McMurray
Kyle Busch
Martin Truex Jr.
Joey Logano
Todd Bodine
Casey Mears
Steve Wallace
Robby Gordon
Terry Labonte
Robert Richardson Jr.
Denny Hamlin
Derrike Cope

T.V. Schedule:
Sprint Cup Practice: Wednesday at 1 PM on Speed
Gatorade Duels: 2 PM on Speed
Daytona 500: Sunday, February 20th at 1 P.M. on Fox
Daytona 500 Pole Report: Lineup Before the Gatorade Duels Daytona 500 Pole Report: Lineup Before the Gatorade Duels Reviewed by Holly Machuga on Sunday, February 13, 2011 Rating: 5