Fast Facts: Hendrick Motorsports

Hendrick Motorsports is owned by Rick Hendrick. Created in 1984, Hendrick fields four teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: #5 Mark Martin, #24 Jeff Gordon, #48 Jimmie Johnson, and #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.

  • Hendrick Motorsports fields Chevrolet Impalas in the Cup Series, and has also fielded Chevys in the Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series.
  • Johnson is, of course, the five-time consecutive Sprint Cup champion (2006 through 2010); he has piloted the #48 since 2002. Before his stock car racing career, Johnson raced motorcycles as a youngster and progressed to off-road racing before joining the American Speed Association (ASA).
  • Martin is thought of by some as the best driver to never win a championship – he’s been the runner-up five times. Martin began his career on Arkansas dirt tracks before shifting to the ASA Series, where he won four championships. He also won five International Race of Champions (IROC) Series titles.
  • Gordon is a four-time Sprint Cup champion (1995, 1997, 1998, and 2001), and won the series’ Rookie of the Year title in 1993. He made his debut in the Cup Series in the final race of the 1992 season – also known as Richard Petty’s final race and as one of the closest points races in Cup Series history (Alan Kulwicki beat Bill Elliott by 10 points).
  • Earnhardt Jr. is the son of the late seven-time Cup champ Dale Earnhardt. He was the Nationwide Series (then Busch Series) champion in 1998 and 1999 driving for Dale Earnhardt Inc. Earnhardt Jr. owns JR Motorsports, which fields cars in the Nationwide Series, including the #7 of Danica Patrick.
  • Find out more about Hendrick Motorsports at
Image: Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR,
Fast Facts: Hendrick Motorsports Fast Facts: Hendrick Motorsports Reviewed by Paula on Saturday, February 05, 2011 Rating: 5