Kevin Harvick Wins Auto Club 400 With Last Lap Pass

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR
Kevin Harvick won the Auto Club 400 with amazing flare and style, a last lap pass on the 5 time Sprint Cup Champion Jimmie Johnson who was battling with Kyle Busch for the lead in the last 3 laps.

Harvick, who grew up in nearby Bakersfield, California, finally got a victory on his home track. He has had success on the track, including eight top-10 finishes.

After Juan Pablo Montoya started on the pole, Denny Hamlin took the lead on lap 8. Hamlin led for 15 laps before being passed by Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch. Busch did not look back, after taking control he led 5 times for a total of 151 laps.

The race was problem free for most, Andy Lally (#71) spun at lap 172 and Bobby Labonte also had an accident at lap 187, resulting in a caution and cleanup due to a fire under the hood.

Denny Hamlin, who was last years' runner up in the Chase, had an early end to his day. His issue is unclear at the moment, although it is being attributed to engine or electrical issues. This was not the only engine issue for JGR this weekend, Joey Logano had to start from the rear of the field due to an engine change prior to today's race.
Team celebration Credit: Jared C. Tilton/gGetty Images for NASCAR         

Today's complete results:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Carl Edwards
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Brian Vickers
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Juan Pablo Montoya
  11. Greg Biffle
  12. Dale Earnhardt  Jr.
  13. Tony Stewart
  14. AJ Allmendinger
  15. Jeff Burton
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Jeff Gordon
  19. David Reuitmann
  20. Mark Martin
  21. Martin Truex Jr.
  22. David Ragan
  23. Jamie McMurray
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Joey Logano
  26. Brad Keselowski
  27. Regan Smith
  28. Marcos Ambrose
  29. Casey Mears
  30. Trevor Bayne
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Andy Lally
  33. Ken Schrader
  34. Robby Gordon
  35. Travis Kvapil
  36. Tony Raines
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Bobby Labonte
  39. Denny Hamlin
  40. Todd Bodine
  41. JJ Yeley
  42. Joe Nemechek
  43. Michael McDowell
Stay tuned to the points update tomorrow, we have a  new leader and as of next week's race in Martinsville the top 35 begin using 2011 points so all top 35 will be recapped.
    Kevin Harvick Wins Auto Club 400 With Last Lap Pass Kevin Harvick Wins Auto Club 400 With Last Lap Pass Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, March 27, 2011 Rating: 5

    1 comment

    1. The oppression that was on the youth drove them to take to the streets as an expression of their emotions that had been held in more years. Vegas Club Promoters