New Format, Participating Drivers Announced for Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge


Seven of the Biggest Names in NASCAR Compete for their Favorite Charity on All-Star Weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway   

CONCORD, N.C. (May 17, 2011) - Pennzoil announced today the lineup of drivers who will compete in this year's Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge, set to take place at 6:00 p.m. (ET) on May 21 at Charlotte Motor Speedway as part of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race pre-event festivities.   

The Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge is NASCAR's version of a"slam dunk  contest," with the sport's top talent showing off their post-win celebration abilities in classic NASCAR tire-smoking burnouts. In addition to being a fan favorite of the weekend's activities, the Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge has become a star-studded event with celebrity judges and some of the biggest names in NASCAR competing for a $10,000 donation to their favorite charity.  Seven drivers will take to the track in this year's Victory Challenge, in identical stock cars prepared by the Richard Petty Driving Experience. A panel of judges will score the drivers' creativity during a 30-second freestyle burnout in order to select the top three, who will then be judged by the fans watching from the stands and on SPEED to pick the winner.   

Along with Shell-Pennzoil driver Kurt Busch, this year's line-up will see 2010 Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge winner Joey Logano back to defend his title.  Clint Bowyer, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Bush, Kasey Kahne and 2011 Daytona 500 champion Trevor Bayne will also be competing for their respective charities.   

"I am really excited to be competing in the Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge this year," said Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Dodge.  "There is no better feeling than a post-win burnout, and I am looking forward to doing some donuts before, and hopefully after, the NASCAR All-Star Race Saturday night. It is great to be associated with a sponsor like Pennzoil, and the icing on the cake
for all of us involved is that the prize money goes to charity."   

"The entire Pennzoil team is very pleased to be able to continue the tradition of the Victory Challenge for another year and further our involvement with the sport," said Rusty Barron, General Manager, Marketing, Shell Lubricants Americas. "Pennzoil is the most trusted motor oil brand in America , and that is due to our loyal consumers, which include many of today's race fans."   

A new format this year allows for increased involvement from the fans in the stands and at home.  A text-to-vote opportunity will begin after the judges have selected the top three burnouts.  Fans at home watching on SPEED and in the stands can vote by texting in specific codes after seeing replays of the top three.  Footage of the top three burnouts will be replayed on Charlotte Motor Speedway's World's Largest HD Video Board, along with their matching text number.  The driver with the most votes at the end will be declared the winner, with $10,000 awarded to the driver's charity of choice.   

The Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge will be televised live on May 21 at 6:00 p.m. (ET) during SPEED's pre-race coverage prior to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Showdown and NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race.   

Tickets start at only $39 for the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race on May 21 at Charlotte Motor Speedway and can be purchased by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or online at An admission ticket to the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race includes the Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge, Sprint Showdown and Dierks Bentley pre-race concert presented by Budweiser in the speedway infield.
New Format, Participating Drivers Announced for Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge New Format, Participating Drivers Announced for Pennzoil Ultra Victory Challenge Reviewed by Admin on Tuesday, May 17, 2011 Rating: 5