NNS: Carl Edwards wins as Miles the Monster roars

Credit: Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images for NASCAR

Dover....when you say that name what comes to mind?  Miles the Monster!  Miles is knowing for claiming many victims at his track, the 5 Hour Energy 200 was no different.

After starting from the pole position Carl Edwards escaped unscathed in the end after 2 attempts at a green-white-checkered finish.

Race Highlights:

  • Lap 1 crash between the No. 81 of Donnie Neuenberge, No. 82 of Blake Koch and the No. 14 of Bliss. Koch was unable to continue racing.
  • Lap 20 - Kevin Lepage hit the wall bringing out a caution
  • Competition caution on lap 40 due to the rain earlier in the rain
  • Lap 47- Brian Scott brought out a caution after an accident in the frontstretch
  • Lap 88 - Rookie Alex Kennedy wrecked into the wall. After crashing he went to get back on track and was not clear. He than wrecked into the No. 16 of Kevin Swindell who is driving for Trevor Bayne's Roush Fenway team. Both cars were wrecked beyond repair. Kennedy and his spotter were called to the NASCAR Hauler to discuss the incident.
  • Lap 141- Justin Allgaier (No. 31) blew a right front tire bringing out a caution, ending his day and surrendering the points lead
  • Red flag for rain 28 minutes and 26 seconds
  • Lap 198 - Michael Annett (No. 62) crashes on the frontstretch leading to a green-white-checkered finish
  • Lap 204 - Eric McClure (No.19) stalls on track bring out the second attempt at a green-white-checker
  • Lap 209- Caution/Checkered Flag to end the race after Carl Edwards passed Joey Logano, Logano got loose and hit the wall than hitting the No.33 of Clint Bowyer. From there it was a chain reaction incident, claiming the cars of Elliott Sadler, Mike Bliss, Kyle Busch, Steven Wallace and Aric Almirola. All drivers were released from the infield care center. A member of KHI's pit crew was struck with debris from Boyer's car and is being transported to a local hospital for treatment.
Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR


1. Carl Edwards
2. Kyle Busch
3. Reed Sorenson
4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
5. David Reutimann
6. Elliott Sadler
7. Kenny Wallace
8. James Buescher
9. Aric Almirola
10. Mike Wallace
11. Jason Leffler
12. Brad Keselowski
13. Joey Logano
14. Clint Bowyer
15. Mike Bliss
16. Steven Wallace
17. Josh Wise
18. Ryan Truex
19. Joe Nemechek
20. Michael Annett
21. J.R. Fitzpatrick
22. Timmy Hill
23. Danny Efland
24. Jeremy Clements
25. Eric McClure
26. Morgan Shepherd
27. Derrike Cope
28. Dennis Setzer
29. Justin Allgaier
30. Brian Scott
31. Kevin Swindell
32. Alex Kennedy
33. Donnie Neuenberger
34. Carl Long
35. Scott Wimmer
36. Tim Andrews
37. Jennifer Jo Cobb
38. Kevin Lepage
39. Brad Teague
40. Brett Rowe
41. Jeff Green
42. Charles Lewandoski
43. Blake Koch
NNS: Carl Edwards wins as Miles the Monster roars NNS: Carl Edwards wins as Miles the Monster roars Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, May 14, 2011 Rating: 5