In The Rearview Mirror: NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2012

Dale Inman and Darrell Waltrip congratulate each other after their nods into the NASCAR Hall.
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
The NASCAR Hall of Fame is where the icons of NASCAR become enshrined, their contributions to the sport honored and fans come to pay tribute to them and the other founding fathers of NASCAR.

The Class of 2012 is no different, with the announcement of the induction of Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Dale Inman, Richie Evans and Glenn Wood.

Let’s take a look back, In the Rearview Mirror at each of the nominees' careers.

Cale Yarborough:
2008 Dec Champions Week NYC Jimmie Johnson with Cale Yarborough backstage at banquet
Jimmie Johnson and Cale Yarborough
Credit: Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR
The original 3-time champion Cale Yarborough was the first name to be announced for the class of 2012. Yarborough won the Cup consecutively in 1976, 1977 and again in 1978 and in that time won an astonishing 28 races.

If you look purely at the stats alone Yarborough was a shoe-in for the Hall of Fame, with 83 victories (6th on the all-time list), 69 poles (4th all-time), 4-time winner of the Daytona 500 (second only to Richard Petty’s 7 wins) and the list could go on.

Darrell Waltrip:
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
Those of us (myself included) who are modern day NASCAR fans only known DW the race announcer, but there is a whole other side to the man who shouts “Boogity, boogity, boogity!” before each race. 

Waltrip had a career most racers would wish for. Over a 29-year career, Waltrip raced in 809 Winston Cup races and that includes 84 wins and an amazing 276 top-5 finishes. Waltrip is also a three-time Winston Cup champion, winning in 1981, 1982 and again in 1985.

DW raced with the top teams in NASCAR, including for Junior Johnson (the team he earned his championships with), Hendrick Motorsports, DiGard and eventually becoming a team owner himself.

Upon retiring from racing in 2000, Waltrip took his racing knowledge into the broadcasting booth with Fox Sports. Waltrip now can be seen with Chris Meyers and his former crew chief Jeff Hammond providing their insight into the racing each week and they mix it up with a unique sense of humor and goofiness.

Dale Inman:
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

After last year’s induction of Richard Petty into the first class, it only seems fitting that the man who made all the calls from his pit box be inducted as well. Dale Inman, cousin to Richard Petty, was crew chief at Petty Enterprises for close to three decades.

Inman served as crew chief for The King during all seven of his championship years and also led Terry Labonte to a title.

Dale Inman is the first crew chief to be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Richie Evans:
Richie Evans HoF Headshot
ISC Archives/Getty Images
Richie Evans is breaking ground in the NASCAR Hall of Fame by becoming the first non-Sprint Cup driver to become enshrined. Remember, it is a NASCAR Hall of Fame, which represents all classes of NASCAR, not just Sprint Cup. 

Evans was proclaimed the “King” of modifieds. Richie won 9 titles in a 13-year span, with eight of those consecutive from 1978-1985.

Glen Wood:
Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR
2011 has been an unforgettable year for Glen Wood. The team that he founded with his brothers won the Daytona 500 in a virtual Cinderella story with young Trevor Bayne at the helm. Now Wood has the distinct honor of being inducted into the 2012 class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. 

Glen Wood was not only a respected team owner but also a driver, strapping in over an 11-year span for more than 60 races in the Grand National Series.

For more information and a complete look at Glen and Wood Brothers racing, read In the Rearview Mirror: Wood Brothers Racing.

59893_566284205410_65903055_32633819_6719149_nNASCAR By the Numbers and In the Rearview Mirror (looking back at NASCAR's history) are Amanda's two weekly columns with Skirts and Scuffs, but as an Associate Editor her duties are limitless. Amanda also strives to provide exclusive interviews for the readers of Skirts and Scuffs. To read her past columns and interviews click here. Feel free to contact Amanda via Twitter.
In The Rearview Mirror: NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2012 In The Rearview Mirror: NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2012 Reviewed by Unknown on Thursday, June 16, 2011 Rating: 5