NNS: Justin Allgaier coasts across the line to win the STP 300

Justin Allgaier celebrates his second career NNS win.
Credit: Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images for NASCAR
The STP 300 ended with drivers running out of fuel and many coasting to the finish line. A battle between the empty tanks of leader Carl Edwards and Justin Allgaier, Allgaier prevailed. Edwards is known for being one of the masters of fuel mileage races but this one slipped through his fingers after battling with Elliott Sadler during the final laps for position. Edwards led a race high 144  out of the 200 laps.

Race highlights:
  • Competition caution lap 27 due to earlier storms
  • Mikey Kile blows his engine and leaves oil on track (caution) lap 63
  • Stenhouse Jr. hits the wall in turn 3 (caution) lap 121 and during pit stop loses crew lose control of tire and has to start at tail end of lead lap
  • Brad Keselowski blows an engine and drops oil (caution) lap 140
  • Record number of lead changes for a race at Chicagoland Speedway: 21 changes among 12 different drivers. Included are Edwards, Sadler, Almirola, Keselowski, Steven Wallace, Kenny Wallace and Kelly Bires.
  • In his first race back after recuperating from illness Trevor Bayne scored a third place finish
  • Danica Patrick also back after time away to focus on IndyCar managed a 10th place finish, her second best (previous was a 4th place finish at Las Vegas).
Complete race results:
1. Justin Allgaier
2. Carl Edwards
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Aric Almirola
5. Jason Leffler
6. Reed Sorenson
7. Kenny Wallace
8. Kelly Bires
9. Michael Annett
10. Danica Patrick
11. Elliott Sadler
12. Steven Wallace
13. Kevin Harvick
14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
15. Timmy Hill
16. Mike Wallace
17. Brian Scott
18.Eric McClure
19. Scott Wimmer
20. Ryan Truex
21. Joe Nemechek
22. Mike Bliss
23. Derrike Cope
24. Charles Lewandoski
25. Morgan Shepherd
26. Josh Wise
27. Blake Koch
28. Kevin Lepage
29. Jeremy Clements
30. Brad Keselowski
31. Carl Long
32. Robert Richardson Jr.
33. Mikey Kile
34. Tim Andrews
35. Dennis Setzer
36. Rick Crawford
37. Matt Carter
38. Johnny Chapman
39. Mike Harmon
40. Jeff Green
41. Chase Miller
42. Brett Rowe

Up next: off next weekend. returns June 18th to Michigan International Speedway for the Alliance Truck Parts 250 at 3:30 pm est. on your local ABC station.
NNS: Justin Allgaier coasts across the line to win the STP 300 NNS: Justin Allgaier coasts across the line to win the STP 300 Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, June 04, 2011 Rating: 5