NNS: Reed Sorenson wins the Bucyrus 200

McDowell claims the pole with the No. 18 team
Credit: Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR
NASCAR returned to Road America for its second time at the 4-mile, 14-turn road course that provides a challenge for the Nationwide Series drivers.

The race started with Michael McDowell (driving the No. 18 for Joe Gibbs Racing) on the pole and quickly showing that he was going to be a factor in the race. As usual with road racing, drivers were off course early but were able to regain the composure to get back on track.

Race Highlights:
  • Lap 2 - Ricky Stenhouse Jr. gets off course
  • Lap 8 - Drew Harrington brings out the first caution after a spin in turn 12
  • Laps 13 & 14 Jason Bowles and Trevor Bayne both go off track – no cautions
  • Lap 20 - Drew Harrington off track – no caution
  • Lap 22 – Kevin Conway spins in turn one and gets stuck in gravel bringing out the second caution
  • Lap 28 - Jeremy Clements stalls on track and Billy Johnson (No. 60 for Edwards) has an engine issue bringing out a caution
  • Restart on lap 29 - McDowell leads Elliott Sadler and Reed Sorenson
  • Lap 48 - Drew Harrington spins in turn 11
To explain the craziness during the end of the race is a bit confusing ... three cautions, three attempts at the green-white-checkered finish per the NASCAR rule book.

  • Attempt number 1 - Jacques Villeneuve (No. 22 for Keselowski) got into Brian Scott and that incident collected Max Papis, Scott spun out and Papis took a hard hit into the wall. That brought out another caution and McDowell was still the leader.
  • Attempt number 2 - McDowell leads headed into turn 1 and Justin Allgaier passed Ron Fellows for second place. McDowell overdrove turn 6 allowing Allgaier to complete the pass for the lead. McDowell overdrove again and that results in him spinning into the grass. While all this is happening Steven Wallace collects a bunch of cars as well. (Unclear as to why but Wallace and his owner/father were asked to report to the hauler after the race)
  • Final attempt - Allgaier leads the field to the green and puts a distance between himself and the second place car of teammate Reed Sorenson. Back in the field, contact occurred between multiple cars and Aric Almirola landed in the gravel  trap, unable to get out on his own. NASCAR threw the caution flag after Allgaier took the white flag, to win he would have to have enough gas to make it around the course under yellow. 

Sorenson on his way to victory.
Credit: Jonathan Daniels/Getty Images
After three attempts at a GWC finish the Bucyrus 200 ended under caution and a debated finish with Sorenson emerging the winner. Leader Allgaier ran out after the yellow flag dropped and was unable to maintain his position, leaving Sorenson to assume the race lead. Sorenson slowed to the caution speed but Ron Fellows did not, speeding past him and roaring up to the pace car as it was preparing to come on track to collect the field. Immediately it was discussed online and by the ESPN booth that Fellows should not have passed Sorenson. Upon the checkered flag a winner was not know, after review NASCAR declared Sorenson the winner. Fellows was then scored in second place.
Sorenson claimed victory at Road America.
Credit: Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Race results:
  1. Reed Sorenson
  2. Ron Fellows
  3. Jacques Villeneuve
  4. Elliot Sadler
  5. Mike Wallace
  6. Andrew Ranger
  7. Michael Annett
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Ricky Carmichael
  10. J R Fitzpatrick
  11. Timmy Hill
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Josh Wise
  14. Blake Koch
  15. Mike Bliss
  16. Brian Scott
  17. Derrike Cope
  18. Dennis Setzer
  19. Justin Allgaier
  20. Jason Leffler
  21. Alex Kennedy
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Max Papis
  24. Kevin Conway
  25. Tim Schendel
  26. Steven Wallace
  27. Eric McClure
  28. Kenny Wallace
  29. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  30. Drew Harrington
  31. Trevor Bayne
  32. Jeremy Clements
  33. Billy Johnson
  34. Jason Bowles
  35. Morgan Shepherd
  36. Carl Long
  37. Charles Lewandoski
  38. Jeff Green
  39. Scott Wimmer
  40. Chase Miller
  41. Tim Andrews
  42. Brett Rowe
NNS: Reed Sorenson wins the Bucyrus 200 NNS: Reed Sorenson wins the Bucyrus 200 Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, June 25, 2011 Rating: 5