Fast Facts: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Long known as the hub of open-wheel racing, Indianapolis Motor Speedway hosted its first NASCAR Cup Series race in 1994. Here are a few items of interest about the Brickyard 400 – taking place Sunday, July 31st – and this historic speedway.
  • “Indy” opened in 1909 and recently celebrated its centennial anniversary era – the first Indy 500 took place in 1911. The 2.5-mile oval has permanent seating for more than 250,000 spectators.
  • Jeff Gordon won the inaugural Brickyard 400 in 1994 – he holds records as the youngest driver to win the race (23 years, two days) and as the driver with the most wins in the Brickyard 400 (four – 1994, 1998, 2001 and 2004).
  • The oldest winner of the Brickyard 400 is Bill Elliott, who was 46 years, 300 days old when he won the race in 2002.
  • Rick Mast won the pole for the inaugural Brickyard 400.
  • 11 drivers have competed in the Indy 500 and the Brickyard 400: John Andretti, Geoff Brabham, A.J. Foyt, Larry Foyt, Robby Gordon, Sam Hornish Jr., Jason Leffler, Scott Pruett, Tony Stewart, Danny Sullivan, and J.J. Yeley. In addition, Scott Speed competed in the Brickyard 400 and the Formula One United States Grand Prix, and Juan Pablo Montoya competed in the Indy 500, the Brickyard 400 and the F1 race.
  • Find out more about the Brickyard 400 and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway at
Fast Facts: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Fast Facts: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Reviewed by Paula on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 Rating: 5