Sunday, July 24, 2011

A NASCAR fan guide to Twitter


Hey NASCAR fans, are you on twitter? If not, you’re missing out on all the breaking news, and behind the scenes action from your favorite drivers and teams. You’re also missing out on some great fan interaction, whether they are at the track or just sitting on the couch watching the race on Sunday.

NASCAR fans are always looking for more ways to access their favorite drivers. From being in the infield and walking down pit road, NASCAR drivers are some of the most accessible athletes in sports. At the right moment, a fan could walk up to a driver just minutes before the climb into the car and get a picture or even an autograph. Some fans want more and now they have it.

Twitter was produced in March 2006 by Jack Dorsey and launched later that July. Since then, Twitter has had 200 million users, and generates 350 million tweets a day.

In 2009, those closely associated with NASCAR, to include PR, journalists, and wives, started to jump on board this social media craze. Shortly after, NASCAR drivers started to tweet, a 140 character message.

NASCAR fans everyday join Twitter and often wonder if any of their favorites are tweeting. So, I’ve decided to welcome the newbies with my Top 10 must have drivers in each of NASCARs top series, as well as the whose who of media, wives, and teams.

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series (@NASCAR_Trucks)
1. Matt Crafton @Matt_Crafton
2. Austin Dillon @austindillon3
3. Jason White @JasonWhite23
4. Justin Lofton @jlracing
5. Ricky Carmichael @RickyCarmichael
6. Jennifer Jo Cobb (also Nationwide Series) @JenJoCobb
7. Max Papis @maxpapis
8. Justin Marks @justinmarks66
9. Parker Kligerman @pkligerman
10. Nelson Piquet Jr. @NelsonPiquet

NASCAR Nationwide Series (@NASCAR_NNS)
1. Justin Allgaier @J_Allgaier
2. Trevor Bayne @Tbayne21
3. Aric Almirola @aric_almirola
4. Elliott Sadler @Elliott_Sadler
5. Kenny Wallace @Kenny_Wallace
6. Brian Scott @bscottracing
7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. @StenhouseJr
8. Danica Patrick @DanicaPatrick
9. Jason Leffler @JasonLeffler
10. Eric McClure @ericmcclure


NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (@NASCAR and @MissSprintCup)
1. Brian Vickers @BrianLVickers
2. Kasey Kahne @kaseykahne
3. Jimmie Johnson @JimmieJohnson
4. Kyle Busch @KyleBusch
5. Denny Hamlin @dennyhamlin
6. Brad Keselowski @keselowski
7. Kevin Harvick @KevinHarvick
8. Joey Logano @JLogano
9. Martin Truex Jr. @MartinTruexJr56
10. Michael Waltrip @mw55

Miscellaneous NASCAR Tweeps:
1. Skirts and Scuffs @SkirtsandScuffs
2. Ashley Allgaier (wife of Justin Allgaier) @AshleyAllgaier
3. Delana Harvick (wife of Kevin Harvick)  @DeLanaHarvick
4. Jim Utter, NASCAR reporter for The Charlotte Observer, @jim_utter
5. Jeff Gluck, Motorsports Editor for SB Nation.com and creator of the NASCAR Tweet-Ups, @jeff_gluck
6. Joe Gibbs Racing @JoeGibbsRacing
7. Jenna Fryer, writer for the Associated Press, @JennaFryer
8. Marty Smith, ESPN NASCAR reporter, @MartySmithESPN
9. Mike Davis, PR for Dale Earnhardt Jr. @MikeDavis88
10. Samantha Busch (wife of Kyle Busch) @Samantha_Busch

We hope you find this list useful as you are learning all about Twitter. Happy Tweeting!

0 comments :

Post a Comment