Kyle Busch wins the Pure Michigan 400

Victory at MIS means a lock into the Chase for Busch.
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

An exciting G-W-C finish proved that Kyle Busch is in it to win it in 2011. Pulling away from Jimmie Johnson on the restart, Busch cruised to the victory and scored himself an entry into Sprint's Summer Showdown as well. With his victory, Busch is now secured a spot in the Chase as well. Busch boasts four victories and 15th top-10 finishes so far this season.

Race highlights:

  • Jeff Gordon reached a career milestone today, having led his 22,000 lap in NASCAR.  Finishing 6th after leading 50 laps, Gordon is still in contention in the Chase for the Sprint Cup.
  • Problems for Chase contenders Carl Edwards and Denny Hamlin. The No. 99 of Edwards suffered an unknown engine issue and after repairs in the garage, returned to the track -28 laps down, he finished in 36th position. Hamlin also had a rough day, after scraping the wall it was reported that he may have bent his shock and went to the garage for repairs. Hamlin returned -15 laps down and finished p.35.
  • Kurt Busch (also a Chase contender) had a bad day at MIS as well, his No. 22 car took a beating, smacking the wall multiple times. Busch brought out the final caution, which set-up the G-W-C finish, after blowing a tire with just 3 laps to go.
  • Another impressive finish by the injured Brad Keselowski, since injuries sustained at Road Atlanta Keselowski has had only finishes in the top 3. A win at Pocono, 2nd at Watkins Glen and a 3rd place today. 
Race Results:
  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Mark Martin
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. David Ragan
  13. Regan Smith
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Bobby Labonte
  16. Brian Vickers
  17. Jeff Burton
  18. David Reutimann
  19. Martin Truex Jr.
  20. Greg Biffle
  21. Joey Logano
  22. Kevin Harvick
  23. Jamie McMurray
  24. Trevor Bayne
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Marcos Ambrose
  28. Travis Kvapil
  29. Andy Lally
  30. Ken Schrader
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. David Gilliland
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Denny Hamlin
  36. Carl Edwards
  37. Casey Mears
  38. Tony Raines
  39. Todd Bodine
  40. David Stremme
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Mike Skinner
  43. JJ Yeley
Kyle Busch wins the Pure Michigan 400 Kyle Busch wins the Pure Michigan 400 Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, August 21, 2011 Rating: 5