Marcos Ambrose wins his first NSCS race after wreck filled ending at The Glen

2011 WGI Aug NSCS Ambrose VL
The smile says it all, Marcos Ambrose is now a winner in
the Sprint Cup series.
Credit: Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR

Considered by many a road course ringer, Marcos Ambrose proved his prowess on the twists and turns of Watkins Glen International today. After rain forced the race to be ran a day late and in continuing overcast conditions, the race ended in mayhem.

Ambrose was in contention for the win all day, battling with Kyle Busch and Brad Keselowski at many times for the lead. Leading four times for a total of 21 laps, this is Ambrose’s first win in the Sprint Cup series in 105 starts and also his seventh top-10 finish of the 2011 season.

Race highlights:
  • A.J. Allmendinger takes the lead on lap 1 from pole sitter Kyle Busch and would lead until lap 8
  • Marcos Ambrose took the lead at lap 9, showing early he was in it to win it
  • Greg Biffle ran out of fuel at lap 29 bringing out the first caution
  • Kurt Busch’s day ended early after a crash into the tire barriers in turn 5, brining out a caution at lap 50
  • Just a few laps later and another hard wreck into the tire barriers, Denny Hamlin hit hard after a part broke, unsure at this point what specifically broke. Afterwards on Twitter, Denny said “I'm ok.. I don't know what broke but that was one of the hardest hits I've ever had.”
  • Setting the race up for a  G-W-C, Paul Menard brought out a caution after cutting a tire
  • On the final restart – an all out wreck fest ensued. David Ragan and Boris Said made contact, wrecking David Reutimann who then went air borne. In a separate incident, Tony Stewart went off track and into the grass. Caution came out and the win was awarded to Ambrose.
Race Results:
  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Juan Pablo Montoya
  8. A.J. Allmendinger
  9. Jeff Burton
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Carl Edwards
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  16. Ryan Newman
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Brian Vickers
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Andy Lally
  22. Boris Said
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Robby Gordon
  25. Mark Martin
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. Tony Stewart
  28. David Ragan
  29. David Reutimann
  30. Ron Fellows
  31. Greg Biffle
  32. Paul Menard
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Terry Labonte
  35. Andrew Ranger
  36. Denny Hamlin
  37. T J Bell
  38. Kurt Busch
  39. Scott Speed
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. J J Yeley
  43. Mike Skinner
Marcos Ambrose wins his first NSCS race after wreck filled ending at The Glen Marcos Ambrose wins his first NSCS race after wreck filled ending at The Glen Reviewed by Unknown on Monday, August 15, 2011 Rating: 5