NNS Pole Report: Villeneuve wins the pole award at Montreal

Credit: Jason Smith/Getty Images

After being the fastest in Nationwide Series Happy Hour for the Napa Auto Parts 200 earlier on Friday, Jacques Villeneuve and his No. 22 Discount Tire/Ruby Tuesday Dodge followed it up by turning a lap of 95.845 around the 2.71 mile Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal. Alex Tagliani, Indianpolis 500 pole winner, who is making his NASCAR debut this weekend will start on the outside of the front row.

Filling in for the double duty drivers during practice and qualifying were:
Owen Kelly (Qualified 9th)- Marcos Ambrose
Billy Johnson (Qualified 14th)- Carl Edwards
Michael Jourdain, Jr (Qualified 17th) - Trevor Bayne
Kevin Conway (Qualified 40th)- Joe Nemechek

*Ambrose, Edwards, Bayne and Nemechek will all start from the rear of the field.

Starting Lineup:
1. Jacques Villeneuve
2. Alex Tagliani
3. Jason Leffler
4. Scott Speed
5. Michael McDowell
6. Robby Gordon
7. Steve Wallace
8. Patrick Carpentier
9. Owen Kelly
10. Justin Allgaier
11. Andrew Ranger
12. Boris Said
13. Ron Fellows
14. Billy Johnson
15. Jason Bowles
16. Elliott Sadler
17. Michael Jourdain, Jr
18. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr
19. Brian Scott
20. Aric Almirola
21. J.R. Fitzpatrick
22. Kyle Kelley
23. Reed Sorenson
24. Kenny Wallace
25. Danica Patrick
26. Alex Kennedy
27. Mike Wallace
28. Michael Annett
29. Mike Bliss
30. Jeff Green
31. Chris Cook
32. Timmy Hill
33. Eric McClure
34. Luis Martinez, Jr
35. Josh Wise
36. Kevin Conway
37. Jeremy Clements
38. Blake Koch
39. Maryeve Dufault
40. Derrike Cope
41. Louis-Philippe Dumoulin
42. Morgan Shepherd
43. DJ Kennington

DNQ: Jean Francois Dumoulin, Tim George Jr, Tomy Drissi, Brett Rowe, Chase Miller

Tune in for the Napa Auto Parts 200 Saturday on ESPN at 1pm.
NNS Pole Report: Villeneuve wins the pole award at Montreal NNS Pole Report: Villeneuve wins the pole award at Montreal Reviewed by Kristin Weaver on Friday, August 19, 2011 Rating: 5