Keselowski dominates Chicagoland Speedway on way to 15th Nationwide Series Victory

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR

When the NASCAR Nationwide Series visited Chicagoland Speedway in June the race ended in dramatic fashion as Carl Edwards ran out of gas handing the lead over to Justin Allgaier. Saturday’s race didn’t come down to fuel mileage or a green-white-checkered finish like many have this season. This time Brad Keselowski dominated the 150 lap event taking home his third series victory of the season.

Pole sitter Brian Scott lost the lead to Keselowski on lap two and battled a loose racecar in the opening laps. By Lap 17 Scott had fallen back to sixth position but stayed within the top-10 for most of the race. Scott was able to improve the handling of his car and recorded a third place finish, tying his career best finish from Chicago of 2010.

Series point’s leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. entered the race 16 points ahead of Elliott Sadler in the standings. Throughout the day Stenhouse complained about his car being too free. The points leader had solid pit stops (the team being pitted by David Ragan’s Cup crew) and finished in the eight spot allowing him to retain his points lead by 14.

The Dollar General 300 Powered by Coca-Cola was slowed three times for caution. The first caution came out for a spinning Ryan Truex who was able to rebound and finish 13th. The second caution was for debris and the third caution came out when the No. 30 of Kasey Kahne made contact with the outside wall after a tire went down.

Excitement occurred with 77 to go when then leader Carl Edwards was forced to pit road after a miscalculation caused him to run dangerously low on fuel. Edwards lost his three-plus second lead and exited pit road some nine seconds behind Keselowski.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series has a week off before returning to track at Dover.

The final results are as follows:
  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Brian Scott
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Sam Hornish Jr. (career best NNS finish)
  6. Elliott Sadler
  7. Jamie McMurray
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Reed Sorenson
  11. Trevor Bayne
  12. Jason Leffler
  13. Ryan Truex (highest finishing rookie)
  14. Justin Allgaier
  15. Mike Bliss
  16. Michael Annett
  17. Kenny Wallace
  18. Steve Wallace
  19. Joey Logano
  20. Mike Wallace
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Timmy Hill
  23. Joey Gase
  24. Kevin Conway
  25. Eric McClure
  26. David Stremme
  27. Blake Koch
  28. Morgan Shepherd
  29. Robert Richardson Jr.
  30. Scott Wimmer
  31. Josh Wise
  32. Derrike Cope
  33. Kasey Kahne
  34. Matthew Carter
  35. Mark Green
  36. Scott Riggs
  37. Carl Long
  38. Johnny Chapman
  39. Danny O’Quinn Jr.
  40. Chase Miller
  41. Dennis Setzer
  42. JJ Yeley
  43. TJ Bell
Keselowski dominates Chicagoland Speedway on way to 15th Nationwide Series Victory Keselowski dominates Chicagoland Speedway on way to 15th Nationwide Series Victory Reviewed by Katy Lindamood on Saturday, September 17, 2011 Rating: 5