Kurt Busch tames the Monster and his naysayers

Victory for Busch and the No. 22 Penske team.
Credit: Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR
After weeks of tension and stress in the No. 22 camp, Kurt Busch proved why he is a NASCAR Champion, putting all that beside him and driving his way to victory at the AAA 400.

In a race dominated by Jimmie Johnson and Carl Edwards, who together led 273 laps, Busch was a contender for the entire race as he himself led 90 laps. (Tune into Skirts and Scuffs tomorrow evening for full coverage of the 12 Chase contenders.)

After Martin Truex Jr. started on pole, he was passed on Lap 3 by Kurt Busch. Caution was brought out at lap 6 after the Nos. 11 and 43 made slight contact. Allmendinger got loose but with an amazing save, did not hit anything and was able to regain composure and rally onward.

Weather showers briefly halted racing at Lap 20 and were also the cause of a scheduled competition at Lap 40. The weather would prove to be a continuing factor and again brought out a caution at Lap 257.

For a track with the moniker of "The Monster Mile," Miles was on good behavior today; his appetite for destruction must be dwindling in the cool, crisp fall air. Most accidents were single-car accidents; the exceptions were Allmendinger/Hamlin and a later accident with Labonte and Ragan.

Race results:
  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. AJ Allmendinger
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Marcos Ambrose
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Jeff Burton
  12. Jeff Gordon
  13. David Reutimann
  14. Brian Vickers
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Denny Hamlin
  19. Mark Martin
  20. Brad Keselowski
  21. David Ragan
  22. Juan Pablo Montoya
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  25. Tony Stewart
  26. Bobby Labonte
  27. Greg Biffle
  28. David Gilliland
  29. Joey Logano
  30. Martin Truex Jr.
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. Andy Lally
  34. J J Yeley
  35. Casey Mears
  36. Mike Bliss
  37. Josh Wise
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. David Stremme
  42. Scott Speed
  43. Travis Kvapil
 The Sprint Cup Series heads to Kansas next weekend, for race No. 4 of the Chase to the Sprint Cup. We will have live coverage of the race - stay tuned to Skirts and Scuffs.
Kurt Busch tames the Monster and his naysayers Kurt Busch tames the Monster and his naysayers Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, October 02, 2011 Rating: 5