Dillon grabs NCWTS title, Sauter takes the Ford 200 win

Heading into the Ford 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Austin Dillon needed a 16th or better finish to claim his first series championship.

Johnny Sauter fought hard, leading 44 laps and coming within 6 points of Dillon.

Rain once again foiled the day after cancelling qualifying; the race was shortened just 15 laps shy of an exciting finish. The victory of the Ford 200 went to Johnny Sauter, leading while the caution came out.

At the age of 21, Austin Dillon became the youngest winner of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series title and brought the No. 3 and Richard Childress back to Victory Lane. 

Just one year ago, Dillon was the Rookie-of-the Year, now he is the series champion.

Kevin and DeLana Harvick were presented with the NCWTS Owner’s Championship while Joey Coulter was awarded the Sunoco Rookie-of-the-Year award.

1. Johnny Sauter
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
5. Joey Coulter
6. Ty Dillon
7. Elliott Sadler
8. Timothy Peters
9.  Jason White
10. Austin Dillon
11. David Starr
12. James Buescher
13. Ron Hornaday Jr.
14. Parker Kligerman
15. Dusty Davis
16. Todd Bodine
17. Ricky Carmichael
18. Justin Lofton
19. Matt Crafton
20. Brendan Gaughan
21. Max Papis
22. Cole Whitt
23. Blake Feese
24. Ryan Sieg
25. Dakoda Armstrong
26. German Quiroga
27. Ross Chastain
28. Bryan Silas
29. Norm Benning
30. Clay Greenfield
31. Max Gresham
32. Miguel Paludo
33. Mike Harmon
34. Dennis Setzer
35. Jennifer Jo Cobb
36. Johnny Chapman
Dillon grabs NCWTS title, Sauter takes the Ford 200 win Dillon grabs NCWTS title, Sauter takes the Ford 200 win Reviewed by Unknown on Friday, November 18, 2011 Rating: 5