Fast Facts: International Motorsports Hall of Fame

Bud Moore, 2009 Induction Ceremony - Getty Images for NASCAR
The International Motorsports Hall of Fame, located on the grounds of Talladega Superspeedway, held its first induction ceremony in 1990, a class that featured motorsports personalities from the world’s many varied series of racing. The Hall of Fame complex features a museum spanning three buildings, with memorabilia dating back to 1902.
  • Inductions are held nearly every year (no inductions in 1995 and 2010); the number of inductees in each class varies: the inaugural class included 20 racing pioneers, while the upcoming class of 2012 is scheduled to have just three inductees (Richard Childress and NHRA legends John Force and Kenny Bernstein).
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame honorees William “Bill” France, Junior Johnson and Lee Petty were members of the Hall’s first class in 1990, with Ned Jarrett inducted in 1991 and Bobby Allison, David Pearson and Cale Yarborough inducted in 1993. Richie Evans became a member in 1996, followed by Richard Petty in 1997. Glen Wood was inducted into the Hall in 2002, while William “Bill” France Jr. entered the Hall in 2004; Darrell Waltrip entered in 2005, Dale Earnhardt in 2006, and Bud Moore was inducted in 2009.
  • Other members of the Hall of Fame include Benny Parsons (1994), Ralph Earnhardt (1997), Roger Penske (1998), Mario Andretti (2000), Alan Kulwicki (2002), Jack Roush (2006) and Maurice Petty (2011).
  • Find out more about the International Motorsports Hall of Fame at
Fast Facts: International Motorsports Hall of Fame Fast Facts: International Motorsports Hall of Fame Reviewed by Paula on Tuesday, January 24, 2012 Rating: 5