NSCS Pole Report: Daytona 500 starting lineup set

Following the Gatorade Duels today, the lineup for the 2012 Daytona 500 is official. For those attempting to race their way into "The Great American Race" today was their make it or break it moment.

Duel No. 1 saw Robby Gordon and Michael McDowell claiming the transfer spots into the "big" show and Terry Labonte using the past champions provisional.

Duel No. 2 was a battle as SPEED chronicled Kenny Wallace's attempt to qualify into the race, but it was a losing battle after a fuel pressure issue let Wallace laps down in the end. Transferring in are Dave Blaney and Joe Nemechek.

The starting lineup for the Daytona 500 is as follows:
  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Tony Stewart (Duel 1 winner)
  4. Matt Kenseth (Duel 2 winner) 
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Regan Smith
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Jeff Burton
  10. Elliott Sadler
  11. Michael McDowell (transferred in) 
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Robby Gordon (transferred in)
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  22. Mark Martin
  23. Brad Keselowski
  24. Dave Blaney (transferred in)
  25. David Ragan
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Aric Almirola
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Denny Hamlin
  32. Bobby Labonte
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Joe Nemechek (transferred in)
  35. Juan Pablo Montoya
  36. Casey Mears
  37. Paul Menard
  38. David Reutimann
  39. Landon Cassill
  40. Trevor Bayne
  41. Tony Raines
  42. David Stremme
  43. Terry Labone (Past champion)
Those who did not qualify: Michael Waltrip, Kenny Wallace, Mike Wallace, J.J. Yeley, Bill Elliott and Robert Richardson Jr. 

Tune into coverage of the Daytona 500 starting at noon ET on your local FOX station. 
NSCS Pole Report: Daytona 500 starting lineup set NSCS Pole Report: Daytona 500 starting lineup set Reviewed by Admin on Thursday, February 23, 2012 Rating: 5