NNS: Joey Logano showcases JGR domination, wins the Royal Purple 300 at Auto Club Speedway

Credit: Johnathan Ferrey/Getty Images for NASCAR
Joey “Sliced Bread” Logano, driver of the No. 18 TransLux.com Toyota Camry, captured his 10th career and eighth consecutive win for Joe Gibbs Racing at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana. The checkered flag waved with Logano crossing the start/finish line 1.066 seconds ahead of Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Logano started the race from the pole position and was engaged in a heated battle for the lead with a number of different drivers throughout the day - Brad Keselowski (37), Kyle Busch (13), Trevor Bayne (3), Justin Allgaier (2), Elliot Sadler (2) and Ricky Stenhouse Jr (1). Logano led for a total 92 laps of this 150-lap event.

"It's important to keep the streak going," said Logano. "You don't want to be the guy who didn't win it and broke the streak. Obviously, it makes me work extra hard -- not that we don't work hard any other weekend; we try to win every one of them -- but to keep a streak going like that is important for our whole company."

There were four caution flags in this race and a few notable highlights which sparked excitement, disappointment and bewilderment:

· Lap 57 (1st caution) – Debris on the back straightaway
· Lap 91 (2nd caution) – Turn 4 spin by Sam Hornish Jr (No. 12)
· Lap 104 (3rd caution) – Debris in Turn 4
· Lap 133 (4th caution) – Turn 4 spin by Blake Koch (No. 41)
· Kyle Busch started at the tail end of the field, he was running p18 within 6 laps of the race
· Danica Patrick – DNF due to engine problems
· Justin Allgaier – DNF due to engine problems

Race Results for the NNS Royal Purple 300:
1. Joey Logano
2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Brian Scott
5. Austin Dillon
6. Brad Sweet
7. Kenny Wallace
8. Kyle Busch
9. Elliott Sadler
10. Brendan Gaughan
11. Michael Annett
12. James Buescher
13. Sam Hornish, Jr.
14. Trevor Bayne
15. Jason Bowles
16. Tayler Maslam
17. Mike Bliss
18. Mike Wallace
19. Joe Nemechek
20. Jeremy Clements
21. Robert Richardson Jr.
22. Benny Gordon
23. Joey Gase
24. Erik Darnell
25. Blake Koch
26. Eric McClure
27. T.J. Bell
28. Daryl Harr
29. Tim Schendel
30. Cole Whitt
31. David Green
32. Justin Allgaier
33. Kevin Lepage
34. Morgan Shepherd
35. Danica Patrick
36. Tim Andrews
37. Scott Riggs
38. Chase Miller
39. Josh Wise
40. Mike Harmon
41. Scott Speed
42. John Jackson
43. Jeff Green

The NASCAR Nationwide Series will be heading to Texas Motor Speedway on April 13, 2012. The O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 is scheduled for 8 p.m. to be broadcast on ESPN2.

Unique Hiram is an Associate Editor/Contributing Writer for Skirts and Scuffs. Additionally, she is also the author of "Fast Lane Poetry" which was published April 2011. Unique can be contacted via email or through Twitter.
NNS: Joey Logano showcases JGR domination, wins the Royal Purple 300 at Auto Club Speedway NNS: Joey Logano showcases JGR domination, wins the Royal Purple 300 at Auto Club Speedway Reviewed by Admin on Saturday, March 24, 2012 Rating: 5