Greg Biffle blows into Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway

Greg Biffle fires the pistols in Victory Lane.
Photo by Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs
Roush Fenway Racing hit a double at Texas Motor Speedway this weekend and owner Jack Roush has a brand-new pair of Charlie 1-Horse white hats for his collection, Greg Biffle won the Samsung Mobile 500 after Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300. The wins marked the third time Roush drivers swept the weekend at TMS and gave the long-time owner his 18th career victory at the speedway, the most of any owner.

After leading 156 of the 500 laps, Jimmie Johnson tangled with Ryan Newman and lap traffic, and ended up scraping the wall, ruining his chance of scoring that elusive 200th Cup win for owner Rick Hendrick. Mark Martin brought the No. 55 Aaron’s Best of the Best Toyota home in third.  Rounding out the top five were Jeff Gordon in the No. 24 DuPont 20 Years Chevy and Matt Kenseth in the No. 17 Best Buy Ford.

Martin Truex Jr. dominated early, but fell back to finish sixth.

The race set several track records: most consecutive green-flag laps with 234, fewest cautions (2) and caution laps, and fastest pace at 160.577mph. Although there were 18 lead changes, high winds prevented much of the side-by-side action for which the Great American Speedway is known, and caused plenty of airborne debris to clog the grilles. Drivers complained of handling issues because of gusts up to 30mph at times.

Brad Keselowski had a strong car early but headed to the garage on Lap 160 because of fuel pump issues. He wound up back in the garage on Lap 217, finishing 36th for the night.

After a rough two weeks over his attempts at keeping the No. 10 in the top 35 in owner points, David Reutimann  finished 26th, which puts the Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevy in 31st place overall.

Biffle ended a winless streak that stretched back to Kansas in 2010, giving his crew chief Matt Puccia his first Sprint Cup win.

Finishing order:

Pos.  Car. Driver
1 16 Greg Biffle

2 48 Jimmie Johnson

3 55 Mark Martin

4 24 Jeff Gordon

5 17 Matt Kenseth

6 56 Martin Truex Jr.

7 5 Kasey Kahne

8 99 Carl Edwards

9 29 Kevin Harvick

10 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.

11 18 Kyle Busch

12 11 Denny Hamlin

13 51 Kurt Busch

14 1 Jamie McMurray

15 22 AJ Allmendinger

16 42 Juan Montoya

17 15 Clint Bowyer

18 27 Paul Menard

19 20 Joey Logano

20 9 Marcos Ambrose

21 39 Ryan Newman

22 43 Aric Almirola

23 78 Regan Smith

24 14 Tony Stewart

25 13 Casey Mears

26 10 David Reutimann

27 47 Bobby Labonte

28 21 Trevor Bayne

29 31 Jeff Burton

30 83 Landon Cassill

31 38 David Gilliland

32 32 Reed Sorenson

33 49 J.J. Yeley

34 33 Tony Raines

35 34 David Ragan

36 2 Brad Keselowski

37 36 Dave Blaney

38 93 Travis Kvapil

39 26 Josh Wise *

40 19 Mike Bliss

41 98 Michael McDowell

42 23 Scott Riggs

43 95 Scott Speed
Greg Biffle blows into Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway Greg Biffle blows into Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Sunday, April 15, 2012 Rating: 5