NCWTS Race Recap: Buescher sails to victory at Kansas Speedway

Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR
James Buescher, driver of the No. 31 Progenex Chevrolet, captured his first win in 76 races when the checkered flag waved at the conclusion of the SFP 250 in Kansas. He crossed the start/finish line 5.320 seconds ahead of Timothy Peters. Additionally, this became the second consecutive win for Turner Motorsports with Kasey Kahne winning at "The Rock," Rockingham Speedway one week ago.

Buescher attributed his win to the fact that his race team brought a brand new truck and made some adjustments that proved to be successful as his machine got dialed into the track despite dealing with tight and loose conditions throughout the day. "Turner Motorsports trucks are pretty awesome and having our first win last week with Kasey along with running second to him, we wanted to come here and win one for ourselves."

Second place Timothy Peters had this to say about his race finish: "I feel like we won - it was pretty close all race long. We just had to keep up with the way the track changed with the sun coming out. I am really proud of everyone on this Red Horse Racing Toyota Tundra. They all worked their butts off over the off season. We struggled on these tracks last year. We got our program together and I'm looking forward to going to Charlotte - I feel like I left a little bit on the table there last year. Just want to thank everyone that's involved with this company. Just a good day."

Brad Keselowski who finished third had this to say about coming so close to his win (he would have become the 24th driver to capture a win in all three NASCAR Series): "I wouldn't say that I'm disappointed - disappointed is not the right word. I'm just motivated, how about that. I want to make that happen. There's never been a father/son combination to win in the Truck series and I would like to be the first one to do it, I think that would be really cool. I would be more motivated for that reason than I am for the reason to join the 23 other drivers who set that record. Plus, we are getting closer."

The drivers who rounded out the top ten were: Nelson Piquet Jr., Todd Bodine, Ron Hornaday Jr., Justin Lofton, Parker Kilgerman, Ty Dillon and Miguel Paludo.
Other notable facts:
  • Timothy Peters - is the points leader (+4) over James Buescher
  • Brad Keselowski - posted first top-10 in three races
  • Ty Dillon - highest finishing rookie (ninth)
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race Results

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Points Report

Next stop for the Truck Series will be Charlotte where they will run the N.C. Education Lottery 200 on May 18 at 7:30 p.m.(ET). Live broadcast of the race will be provided by SPEED.

Unique Hiram is an Associate Editor/Contributing Writer for Skirts and Scuffs. Additionally, she is also the author of "Fast Lane Poetry" which was published April 2011. Unique can be contacted via email or through Twitter.
NCWTS Race Recap: Buescher sails to victory at Kansas Speedway NCWTS Race Recap: Buescher sails to victory at Kansas Speedway Reviewed by Unique Hiram on Saturday, April 21, 2012 Rating: 5