Earnhardt, Allmendinger, and Labonte transfer to All-Star

1st place (first transfer position) Dale Earnhardt Jr. won't be relying on the Sprint Fan Vote tonight. He's raced his way into the main event by winning the Sprint Showdown, which is exactly what he wanted to do. Leading the entire 40 lap race, Earnhardt told members of the media, "I never assume that I'm gonna win the vote. The fans supporting me is a gift and I never take it for granted...I felt like if we really gt our nose out ahead we'd be hard to beat." 

2nd place (second transfer position) In 2009 AJ Allmendinger, then driving for Red Bull Racing, earned his way into his first All-Star race by winning the Sprint Showdown. Although he didn't win tonight, he was able to transfer in with a second place in the qualifier. After qualifying on the pole for the event Allmendinger was forced to pit road for a downed left-front tire just as the field took the green. After taking on two tires, Allmendinger methodically found his way to the front of the pack, battling with Jamie McMurray for the second spot. He credited his ability to get past McMurray to a fast car and the work of this team to get him back on the track without losing a lap.

Sprint Fan Vote (third transfer position) Veteran driver Bobby Labonte takes home the Sprint Fan Vote, transferring into the All-Star Race. Labonte admitted that just two weeks ago he was considering withdrawing because of funding.

Catch all the action live on SPEED now! 

Earnhardt, Allmendinger, and Labonte transfer to All-Star Earnhardt, Allmendinger, and Labonte transfer to All-Star Reviewed by Katy Lindamood on Saturday, May 19, 2012 Rating: 5