Kyle Busch wins pole for 2012 All-Star Race

Qualifying for the All-Star race is like no other, 3 laps and a 4 tire pit stop means not only the driver but the pit crew play a part in the starting position for tomorrow's race. The pits stops proved to be costly for the elite teams of NASCAR, penalties cost many teams their starting positions for either loose lug nuts or going over the wall to soon.

Kyle Busch, the last car to qualify, saw the mistakes being made and avoided them all. The No. 18 pit crew was flawless in their stop and Busch was able to knock provisional pole sitter Ryan Newman off of the pole.

Two drivers will start at the rear of the field: Kasey Kahne who had a hard hit during qualifying and will require a backup car and Regan Smith who had an engine change.

The starting lineup for tomorrow's All-Star race:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Ryan Newman
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Paul Menard
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Regan Smith
  11. Trevor Bayne
  12. Clint Bowyer
  13. Carl Edwards
  14. David Ragan
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Mark Martin
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Kasey Kahne
Kyle Busch wins pole for 2012 All-Star Race Kyle Busch wins pole for 2012 All-Star Race Reviewed by Unknown on Friday, May 18, 2012 Rating: 5