NSCS Pole Report: Jeff Gordon earns 71st career pole

Jeff Gordon won the pole for Sunday’s Sprint Cup race at Talladega with a lap of 49.97 seconds at 191.623 mph. This is Gordon’s 71st pole in the series, which places him on third on the all-time series pole list, tied with David Pearson. Also, this is Gordon’s third pole at Talladega. AJ Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Aric Almirola, and Kasey Kahne round out the top five.

Here’s the starting lineup:
1. Jeff Gordon
2. AJ Allmendinger
3. Marcos Ambrose
4. Aric Almirola
5. Kasey Kahne
6. Greg Biffle
7. Carl Edwards
8. Tony Stewart
9. Michael Waltrip
10. Matt Kenseth
11. Trevor Bayne
12. Juan Pablo Montoya
13. Brad Keselowski
14. Ryan Newman
15. Martin Truex Jr.
16. Josh Wise
17. Paul Menard
18.Dale Earnhardt Jr.
19. Jimmie Johnson
20. Kevin Harvick
21. Kyle Busch
22. Denny Hamlin
23. Jamie McMurray
24. Clint Bowyer
25. Casey Mears
26. David Gilliland
27. David Stremme
28. Terry Labonte
29. Jeff Burton
30. Joey Logano
31. Regan Smith
32. David Ragan
33. Kurt Busch
34. David Reutimann
35. Michael McDowell
36. Bill Elliott
37. Joe Nemechek
38. Dave Blaney
39. Robert Richardson Jr.
40. Landon Cassill
41. Travis Kvapil
42. Bobby Labonte
43. Tony Raines

Who did not make it:
J.J. Yeley

Television schedule:
Aaron’s 499 at Talladega- 12 p.m. ET Sunday on FOX
NSCS Pole Report: Jeff Gordon earns 71st career pole NSCS Pole Report: Jeff Gordon earns 71st career pole Reviewed by Holly Machuga on Saturday, May 05, 2012 Rating: 5

No comments