James Buescher wins at Kentucky, becoming first repetitive winner of 2012

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

There are no other words to describe James Buescher victory during tonight's UNOH 225 at Kentucky Speedway other than a beat down! Buescher dominated the field for 119 of the 150 laps and was clearly on a mission to become the first two-time winner this season.

While Buescher dominated the lead, racing behind him was intense. “The Onion” Todd Bodine was off to a bad start, spinning in Turn 3 at Lap 23. Although Bodine has done the spin and win before, tonight would not be his night. Bodine’s night ended in a wreck at Lap 69, in an accident involving points leader Justin Lofton and last week’s Nationwide winner Nelson Piquet Jr.

Bodine had a run in Turn 1 and dove beneath Lofton, got loose and Lofton knocked into Piquet, Lofton slammed the outside wall. From Bodine’s point of view, the accident is Lofton’s error.

"I thought Justin was blowing up," Bodine said. "I caught him so fast -- I didn't know what was going on, if he got loose off of [Turn] 4 or what. I caught him so fast, thought he was blowing up, so I went under him, and, obviously, he wasn't blowing up . . ."

"He's got plenty of room outside -- he's got to learn to give some space here. When you get that close and that tight on somebody, you're just taking all their air, and there's absolutely nothing you can do about it."

Bodine and Piquet were done at that point, Lofton was able to continue on and finished the race in 14th, attempting to minimize the points damage.

In his debut, Kyle Larson is making a statement:

A young rookie by the name of Kyle Larson made his NCWTS debut this evening, racing the No. 4 Truck for Turner Motorsports. Larson's story was followed closely by SPEED throughout the race and I have to say, I am thoroughly impressed! He is under contract with Chip Ganassi, this is a name you will be hearing for years to come and you saw him first in the NASCAR Truck Series. Finishing in 10th, the 19 year old driver held his own up against series veterans.

Race results:
  1. James Buescher
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Ty Dillon
  4. Matt Crafton
  5. Timothy Peters
  6. Johnny Sauter
  7. Joey Coulter
  8. Jason Leffler
  9. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Jason White
  12. Miguel Paludo
  13. Dakoda Armstrong
  14. Justin Lofton
  15. David Starr
  16. Ryan Sieg
  17. Paulie Harraka
  18. Clay Greenfield
  19. Parker Kligerman
  20. Chris Fontaine
  21. Caleb Holman
  22. Brennan Newberry
  23. Tyler Young
  24. Tim George Jr.
  25. Cale Gale
  26. Bryan Silas (relieved mid-race due to illness, replace by Ross Chastain)
  27. Jeff Agnew
  28. Todd Bodine
  29. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  30. Max Gresham
  31. Jake Crum
  32. John Wes Townley
  33. Ross Chastain
  34. CE Falk
  35. Dennis Setzer
  36. Scott Riggs
As mentioned, Lofton's crash created a points shakeup, Timothy Peters is back on top but only by 4 points. 
  1. Timothy Peters
  2. Justin Lofton -4
  3. Ty Dillon -4
  4. James Buescher -9
  5. Parker Kligerman -34
  6. Matt Crafton -42
  7. Joey Coulter -50
  8. Ron Hornaday -53
  9. Nelson Piquet -57
  10. Miguel Paludo -75
  11. Jason White -76
  12. Todd Bodine -78
  13. Johnny Sauter -86
  14. Cale Gale -86
  15. David Starr -91
James Buescher wins at Kentucky, becoming first repetitive winner of 2012 James Buescher wins at Kentucky, becoming first repetitive winner of 2012 Reviewed by Unknown on Thursday, June 28, 2012 Rating: 5