Todd Bodine wins a rain shortened Lucas Oil 200

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR
Miles the Monster roared loudly during today's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race, showing that monsters do not play nice. From rain to multiple cautions, the NCWTS race at Dover had everything to please Miles' hungry palate.

Todd Bodine walked away Dover victorious, thankful for rain and to crew chief Rick Gay for strategy calls that allowed him to be there with enough fuel, which was questionable. Under the final caution and eventual red flag, Bodine was shutting off the engine of his No. 11 - coasting around the track to conserve fuel if needed.

Asked how he feels to get back to victory lane, Bodine said, "It’s been a while.  We didn’t get there last year with the Germain team.  It’s awesome.  This Red Horse race team is so good.  I’m so happy to be a part of this team.  Tom DeLoach (owner) has put together a group of guys that are second to none.  Rick Gay (crew chief) and myself have been friends for so long – it’s great to be able to work together.  This win is because of Rick.  He made a gamble.  He took that shot that the rain was going to come.  We knew that if we could get out front we were going to be plenty fast enough to hold them off.  The truck wasn’t perfect.  Our Tundra wasn’t the perfect truck, but it was definitely good enough.”

Kevin Harvick, who started on pole, looked to be the dominant force of the race. Leading for 96 laps, once Harvick was in dirty air there was not much he could do to get back and battle for the lead.

Parker Kligerman finished in second to score his third top-10 of the season. In his post-race media center Q&A Kligerman said after his earlier accident, "I was angry, kind of drove with my hair on fire;"

As he approached the mic in the media center, Bodine started belting, "singing in the rain." Fitting for his evening. From an early accident to a victory, Bodine scored his first NCWTS victory at the Monster Mile.

Miles roared: Caution recaps

  • Jason White brought out caution No. 1 on Lap 12, his No. 23 Ford blew up early, erupting into flames. White exited safely and was treated and released from the infield care center.
  • John Wes Townley had a tire go down, causing him to smack the wall in Turn 2 at Lap 25.
  • A multi-truck incident collected the trucks of Brian Scott, Max Gresham, Jed Burton, Parker Kligerman and Cale Gale. (Burton and Kligerman pictured below)

Credit: Rob Carr/Getty Images for NASCAR

  • Todd Bodine, spins and blows a tire at Lap 69. Just 100 laps later, Bodine would be crowned the race winner!
  • A hard hit for Ryan Sieg, No. 39, on the frontstretch after he appeared to just get loose. If you are counting, that is caution No. 5 and only at Lap 97. 
  • Just a few laps later, Wes Burton crashed in his 2012 NCWTS debut. During the cleanup, rain started to fall, just past the halfway mark. Red flag was out for 15 minutes, 23 seconds.
  • Rookie Max Gresham's hardships continued at the Monster Mile, blowing a right front tire and smacking the outside wall to bring out caution No. 7.
  • Ron Hornaday and Justin Lofton bumped, sending Hornaday spinning for another caution.
  • The ninth and final caution/red flag was once again for rain.
Race results:
  1. Todd Bodine
  2. Parker Kligerman
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  5. Cale Gale
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. James Buescher
  8. Matt Crafton
  9. Timothy Peters
  10. Justin Lofton
  11. Joey Coulter
  12. Miguel Paludo
  13. Brian Scott
  14. David Starr
  15. Ross Chastain
  16. John Wes Townley
  17. Paulie Harraka
  18. Caleb Holman
  19. Jeb Burton
  20. Dakoda Armstrong
  21. Jeff Agnew
  22. Bryan Silas
  23. Chris Fontaine
  24. Johnny Sauter
  25. Norm Benning
  26. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  27. Ron Hornaday
  28. Wes Burton
  29. Ryan Silas
  30. Max Gresham
  31. Chris Jones
  32. Johnny Chapman
  33. Jason White
  34. Mike Harmon
  35. Dennis Setzer
In the points:
  1. Justin Lofton
  2. Timothy Peters -1
  3. Ty Dillon -13
  4. James Buescher -16
  5. Parker Kligerman -22
  6. Todd Bodine -37
  7. Nelson Piquet Jr. -40
  8. Ron Hornaday Jr. -49
  9. Matt Crafton -55
  10. Joey Coulter -57
  11. Jason White -66
  12. Miguel Paludo -66
  13. Cale Gale -70
  14. David Starr -80
  15. Dakoda Armstrong -88
Todd Bodine wins a rain shortened Lucas Oil 200 Todd Bodine wins a rain shortened Lucas Oil 200 Reviewed by Unknown on Friday, June 01, 2012 Rating: 5