Joey Coulter earns first Truck Series win at Pocono

Joey Coulter in victory lane following the Pocono Mountains 125 on Saturday.
Credit: Drew Hallowell/Getty Images for NASCAR
Joey Coulter took home his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win in 36 career Truck starts Saturday in the Pocono Mountains 125 at Pocono Raceway.

This season Coulter has one top five and five top 10s. His best finish prior to this race was third. In his 2011 rookie season Coulter earned five top fives and 13 top 10s, finishing seventh in the point standings. 
James Buescher finished second behind Coulter and posted his second top-10 finish at Pocono and seventh top-10 in 2012. Nelson Piquet Jr., Matt Crafton and Denny Hamlin also finished in the top five. Ty Dillon pulled off a sixth-place finish after an incident earlier in the race cost him several positions for much of the race. 
Timothy Peters leads the standings by eight points over Dillon. Peters was taken out of the race on lap 39 due to a crash while racing through the tunnel turn. Peters started the race in eighth. 
Nelson Piquet Jr. led 33 laps and narrowly survived a run-in on lap 34 with Todd Bodine. Piquet Jr. led the field to final restart, but it was Coulter who crossed the finish line first. 
Kyle Martel and Sean Corr who both made their first starts in the Truck Series in the Pocono Mountains 125 finished 21st and 25th respectively. 
According to the unofficial standings, Buescher and Crafton each gained one position while Justin Lofton, Ron Hornaday and Parker Kligerman each lost one position. 
Piquet Jr. earned the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award and race winner Coulter earned the Mobil 1 Oil Driver of the Race Award. 
Unofficial Race Results:
  1. Joey Coulter
  2. James Buescher
  3. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  4. Matt Crafton
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. Parker Kligerman
  8. John Wes Townley
  9. Justin Lofton
  10. Ross Chastain
  11. Jason White
  12. Dakoda Armstrong
  13. Miguel Paludo
  14. Cale Gale
  15. Timothy George Jr.
  16. C.E. Falk
  17. Bryan Silas
  18. Chris Fontaine
  19. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  20. Norm Benning
  21. Kyle Martel
  22. Timothy Peters
  23. Wes Burton
  24. Paulie Harraka
  25. Sean Corr
  26. Todd Bodine
  27. Johnny Sauter
  28. Dennis Setzer
  29. Ryan Sieg
  30. Brandon Knupp
  31. Jeff Agnew
  32. Scott Riggs
  33. Adam Edwards
  34. Chris Jones
  35. Chris Lafferty
  36. Jennifer Jo Cobb
Joey Coulter earns first Truck Series win at Pocono Joey Coulter earns first Truck Series win at Pocono Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, August 04, 2012 Rating: 5