Chevrolet Clinches Bill France Performance Cup for the 15th Time

Award Recognizes Manufacturers’ Championship in the NASCAR Nationwide Series
DETROIT (October 20, 2012) – With Austin Dillon’s second place finish in the Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway, Chevrolet has clinched the Manufacturers’ Championship in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. The 2012 achievement marks the 15th time the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious Bill France Performance Cup.

"Chevrolet is honored to win the 2012 Bill France Performance Cup, and capture the Manufacturers' Championship in the NASCAR Nationwide Series for the 15th time,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “Our success is the result of dedication and determination of our Nationwide Series team owners, crew chiefs and their crews as well as the drivers giving it their all on the track. We salute the efforts of everyone who worked tirelessly to bring this award to Chevrolet."

On the way to securing the Bill France Performance Cup, Chevrolet drivers have won 11 races in the 30 Nationwide Series races held to-date. The quest for the coveted Manufacturers’ title began at the first race of the season when James Buescher took the win at Daytona International Speedway.

"Winning the Bill France Performance Cup is a tremendous accomplishment for everyone involved in the Chevrolet NASCAR Nationwide Series program,” added Pat Suhy, Chevrolet Racing NASCAR Group Manager. “Our technical partners, in conjunction with Chevrolet engineers and those on every one of our teams have put in a dedicated and focused effort throughout the season that resulted in this Manufacturers' Championship. Thank you to everyone for their contributions to our success."

In addition to Buescher, the following Team Chevy drivers that contributed to Chevrolet’s capturing the Manufacturers’ crown with manufacturers’ points-paying finishes are: Elliott Sader (four wins); Austin Dillon (two wins); Kevin Harvick (one win); Justin Allgaier (one win); Nelson Piquet, Jr. (one win); Kurt Busch (one win); Paul Menard, Cole Whitt, Ty Dillon and Ron Fellows.

"Congratulations to our teams, drivers and partners on winning the 2012 NASCAR Nationwide Series Bill France Performance Cup,” said Shane Martin, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, NASCAR Nationwide Series. “While the organizations are competitors on the track, we are all Team Chevy, and the cooperative effort has resulted in this exciting and important achievement. I am very proud of the contributions made by everyone involved in this program, and look forward to more success as the season winds down."

With three races remaining on the 2012 NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule, Dillon is in third place in the driver's point standings and Sadler is the current points leader.

About Chevrolet

Founded in 1911 in Detroit, Chevrolet is now one of the world's largest car brands, doing business in more than 140 countries and selling more than 4 million cars and trucks a year. Chevrolet provides customers with fuel-efficient vehicles that feature spirited performance, expressive design and high quality. More information on Chevrolet models can be found at
Chevrolet Clinches Bill France Performance Cup for the 15th Time Chevrolet Clinches Bill France Performance Cup for the 15th Time Reviewed by Admin on Saturday, October 20, 2012 Rating: 5