Friday, October 12, 2012

Logano earns eighth Nationwide Series victory of the season, first at Charlotte Motor Speedway

Joey Logano's got lots of practice with burnouts this season in NNS.
Photo credit: Charlotte Bray/Skirts and Scuffs

2012 has been Joey Logano's year in the Nationwide Series. On Friday night he earned win number eight and his first career victory at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Logano leads the series in wins, reaching victory lane in 44% of the races he's run.

Running one of the few cars without a pink paint scheme in support of Breast Cancer Awareness month, Logano started the Dollar General 300 from the third position, behind points leader Elliott Sadler. 

Sadler survived a slow stop on the round of green-flag stops just past the 1/4 mark of the race to finish in the top five. After making contact with the outside retaining wall, defending Nationwide Series Champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. lost time and momentum on pit road during the final round of stops. Falling back to seventh, he was unable to recover from the slow stop for repairs and finished seventh. Stenhouse Jr. trails Sadler in the points by 13 with only a handful of races left in the season.

The caution flag flew five times during the event, including on Lap 1 when Angela Cope made contact with Joe Nemechek, busting her radiator and spewing water all over the track.  The second caution of the night came out for an incident involving Sam Hornish Jr. and Justin Allgaier. While battling for tenth position Hornish was cleared by his spotter although Allgaier was still on his outside. Allgaier was forced into the outside wall where he and Hornish both sustained significant damage. Both cars were forced to the garage where Hornish told reporters, "I got cleared, but apparently I wasn't clear" before going on to say that his spotter had taken responsibility for the accident and conceding that everyone makes mistakes. 

The caution flag also flew for an accident involving Mike Bliss and one involving Brad Sweet.


  1. Logano
  2. Harvick
  3. Sadler
  4. Busch
  5. Hamlin
  6. Dillon
  7. Stenhouse Jr.
  8. Scott
  9. Buescher
  10. Annett
  11. Patrick
  12. Sorenson
  13. Whitt
  14. Blaney
  15. Sweet
  16. Green
  17. Nemechek
  18. Keselowski
  19. Clements
  20. Richardson Jr.
  21. Darnell
  22. Lepage
  23. McClure
  24. Wallace
  25. Fowler
  26. Starr
  27. Earnhardt
  28. Bowles
  29. Barrett
  30. Raines
  31. Efland
  32. Townley
  33. Hill
  34. Allgaier
  35. Hornish Jr.
  36. Bliss
  37. Miller
  38. Yeley
  39. Green
  40. Riggs
  41. Wise
  42. Lewandoski
  43. Cope


Post a Comment