Crockett capitalizes on traffic for ASCS Victory


TUCSON, Ariz. (February 23, 2013) Utilizing slower traffic in the later running of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real feature event, Roger Crockett found his way to his third career National Tour victory, and first at the Tucson International Raceway. 

“I just seen him [Brown] start to get tight later in the race and I’d seen where he tried to go high around lapped cars before so I knew that was my shot” said Crockett about his pass for the lead. 

With the victory, Roger elaborated on the coming weekend in Yuma, and the momentum gained over the weekend in Tucson, “We have a lot of momentum going into next week in Yuma, you know we had a pretty rough start there last year and got things going pretty good the second night and got more momentum but right now the cars better than it’s ever been.”

Drawing the number two pill for the night’s “A” Feature, Crockett started alongside Brian Brown with Brown jumping to the point at the green. 

Stopping for a lap two red flag that saw Brandon Hahn flipping after contact with an infield tire, Brown continued to set the pace with Crockett in tow. As Brown worked to extend his lead, slower traffic would come into play on lap seven; giving Crockett a chance at the lead with Jeff Swindell closing to battle for the runner up spot. 

Able to work to a clear track, Brown distanced himself to a half straight-a-way before traffic again became a factor with Crockett and Swindell once again pulling within striking distance before the Casey’s General Store No. 21 cleared the surrounding drivers. 

With the race seemingly in hand, Brown raced to the final five laps with everything going his way. Working the hub of the Tucson International Raceway, Brown once again found himself surrounded by slower cars with Crockett working the cushion and closing in.  

Coming around to complete Lap 27, Brown would be forced off the bottom of the track, leaving the bottom groove open for Crockett to diamond the entrance of turn one for the pass on Brown; taking the top spot exiting turn two. 
Photo credit: Tim Aylwin Photography

Roger Crockett would go uncontested as Brian Brown settled for the runner up spot with Jeff Swindell rounding out the podium despite a lack of brakes for the better part of the night’s feature event. Christopher Bell advanced from ninth to grab fourth with Tony Bruce, Jr. rounding out the top five. Johnny Herrera crossed the line sixth with Willie Croft, Danny Wood, Wayne Johnson, and Lucas Wolfe completing the top ten. 

BMRS Heat one went to Tony Bruce, Jr. with Willie Croft taking Wesmar Racing Engines Heat two. Josh Baughman was the victor in the Saldana Racing Products Heat three with Danny Wood picking up Ti22 Heat four. 

SBI Fuel Bladder B-Feature one belonged to Joshua Hodges with Cole Wood taking the Joie of Seating second B-Feature. 

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real continues on Friday, March 1 at the Cocopah Speedway in Somerton, Ariz. for the Cocopah Cup Challenge. 

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real

Tucson International Raceway - Tucson, Ariz.

Old Pueblo Classic presented by Print Place

Friday, Feb. 23, 2013

Car Count: 35

Event Car Count: 36

BMRS Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[4]; 3. 01-Kaylene Verville[1]; 4. 18L-Lorne Wofford[6]; 5. 87-Aaron Reutzel[3]; 6. 5-Kyle McCutcheon[5]; 7. 23N-Brock Lemley[7]; 8. 41C-Billy Chester III[8]

Wesmar Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 29W-Willie Croft[2]; 2. 99-Shawn Petersen[1]; 3. 4X-Christopher Bell[6]; 4. 74X-Joshua Hodges[4]; 5. 17W-Cole Wood[5]; 6. 8AZ-Jordan Stetson[3]; 7. 90-Lance Norick[8]; 8. 21K-Kyle Sager[7]

Saldana Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Josh Baughman[2]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 3. 5H-Justyn Cox[3]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard[4]; 6. 2L-Logan Forler[7]; 7. 27-Mitch Olson[8]; 8. 94X-Ronnie Clark[6]

Ti22 Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[2]; 2. 29-Brandon Hahn[1]; 3. 82-Lucas Wolfe[3]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 5. 20Z-Rick Ziehl[6]; 6. 93-Dustin Morgan[5]; 7. 41W-Joshua Williams[7]

SBI Fuel Bladder B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 74X-Joshua Hodges[1]; 2. 20Z-Rick Ziehl[2]; 3. 27-Mitch Olson[7]; 4. 21K-Kyle Sager[8]; 5. 87-Aaron Reutzel[4]; 6. 93-Dustin Morgan[5]; 7. 94X-Ronnie Clark[9]; 8. 8AZ-Jordan Stetson[6]; 9. 77-Dalten Gabbard[3]

The Joie of Seating B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 17W-Cole Wood[2]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 3. 5H-Justyn Cox; 4. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 5. 23N-Brock Lemley[6]; 6. 90-Lance Norick[5]; 7. 41C-Billy Chester III[8]; 8. 41W-Joshua Williams[7]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett[2]; 2. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 3. 94-Jeff Swindell[4]; 4. 4X-Christopher Bell[9]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 7. 29W-Willie Croft[3]; 8. 81-Danny Wood[8]; 9. 77X-Wayne Johnson[10]; 10. 82-Lucas Wolfe[15]; 11. 41-Jason Johnson[16]; 12. 23-Seth Bergman[12]; 13. 74X-Joshua Hodges[19]; 14. 5H-Justyn Cox[14]; 15. 05-Brad Loyet[22]; 16. 17W-Cole Wood[20]; 17. 20Z-Rick Ziehl[21]; 18. 99-Shawn Petersen[11]; DNF 17-Josh Baughman[7]; DNF 18L-Lorne Wofford[18]; DNF 93-Dustin Morgan[23]; DNF 01-Kaylene Verville[17]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[13]

Lap Leaders: Brian Brown (1-26), Roger Crockett (27-30) Hard Charger: Brad Loyet +7

FSR High Points of the Night: Tony Bruce, Jr.

Provisional(s): Dustin Morgan (P1-Full Point) 

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Brian Brown-1, Roger Crockett-1, 

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Brian Brown 292; 2. Roger Crockett 285; 3. Jeff Swindell 265; 4. Johnny Herrera 264; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 247; 6. Wayne Johnson 238; 7. Jason Johnson 224; 8. Lucas Wolfe 220; 9. Danny Wood 220; 10. Christopher Bell 219.

Crockett capitalizes on traffic for ASCS Victory Crockett capitalizes on traffic for ASCS Victory Reviewed by Dirt Racing News on Sunday, February 24, 2013 Rating: 5