Lacy Keyser chooses the champs for 2013

Credit: Lisa Janine Cloud for Skirts and Scuffs

The 2012 season was one that many, myself included, won’t forget anytime soon. 2012 had wild finishes, Dale Earnhardt Jr. returned to victory lane, and unlike the previous seven years, a Chevy driver didn't win the championship. 

I've selected my champs for 2013 based on what last year showed us. Here's hoping the feeling isn't wrong.

Credit: Lisa Janine Cloud for Skirts and Scuffs
Trucks: For the Camping World Truck Series, I choose Ty Dillon. Dillon had a breakout season in his first full year of trucks. He scored top-10 finishes in the first five races and got his first win at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Dillon also won Rookie of the Year on his way to a fourth-place finish in the points.

I have no doubt Dillon will capitalize on the successes of his rookie season and turn his second season into a championship. Dillon proved in 2012 that he's capable of winning and battling for the title. 
 Chris Trotman/Getty Images for NASCAR
Nationwide: Regan Smith, my choice for Nationwide Series champion, was an easy pick. Last season Smith joined JR Motorsports for the final race of the season at Homestead-Miami Speedway and he what did he do? He won the race! Prior to the season-ender, Smith hadn't raced in the series for five years and had never earned a vicory in his 102 previous starts.

After setting the bar, Smith joins JRM full time for 2013 driving the No. 7 Chevrolet. He's one to keep your eyes on this season, and I believe he's going to bring JR Motorsports their first Nationwide Series championship. 

The only driver I see giving Smith the run for the championship is Austin Dillon. Just like his younger brother, Austin also won the Rookie of the Year, as well as finishing high in the point standings. I believe Dillon will be hungry for that championship, so I see it coming down to Smith and Dillon for the win - the new Stenhouse and Sadler for this year.

Cup: My pick will have to be Dale Earnhardt Jr. Last season, the old fire was back in Earnhardt Jr. He was the only driver to finish on the lead lap, a 21-race streak which came to an end at Pocono. His championship chances went up in smoke due to his concussion, which unfortunately made him miss two races. Had he not suffered it, I think Earnhardt Jr. could have made the 2012 championship his. 

The 2012 season only made Earnhardt Jr. hungry for more and by more I mean “NASCAR’s 2013 Sprint Cup champion!” 
Lacy Keyser chooses the champs for 2013 Lacy Keyser chooses the champs for 2013 Reviewed by Lacy Page on Thursday, February 07, 2013 Rating: 5