Tony Stewart's record-tying victory overshadowed by fan injuries

Trevor Bayne, driver of the No. 6 Cargill Ford, leads the start during the NASCAR Nationwide Series DRIVE4COPD 300 at Daytona International Speedway on Feb. 23, 2013 in Daytona Beach, Fla.
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images 
A last-lap crash sent the No. 32 of Kyle Larson into the catchfence, shearing the front of it at the firewall and depositing the engine and debris into the grandstands. Post-race reports included few details, but Speed Center initially maintained that a number of fans were injured and transported to Halifax Medical Center and other local hospitals.

Larson climbed out of what was left of his car, uninjured.

Tony Stewart won the DRIVE4COPD 300, but there was little celebration. Twelve cars were involved in the incident that left debris strewn over the infield and track and Larson's engine sitting tangled in the fence.

As the pack took the final turn, Brad Keselowski pushed Regan Smith out ahead of the tandem of Tony Stewart and Sam Hornish Jr. Keselowski tried to pass Smith for the win, Smith made a small move to block but got turned broadside to the field. The ensuing melee also included Dale Earnhardt Jr., Joe Nemechek, Robert Richardson Jr., Trevor Bayne, Mike Wallace, Travis Pastrana, Elliott Sadler, Alex Bowman and Justin Allgaier. All were checked and released from the infield care center.

Previously Michael Annett was transported to Halifax when he got loose behind Elliott Sadler and moved up into the left rear quarter panel of Austin Dillon, causing a multi-car crash. Annett is reported to be awake and alert and undergoing tests.

Finishing order:

1. Tony Stewart
2. Sam Hornish Jr.
3. Alex Bowman
4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
5. Parker Kligerman
6. Brian Scott
7. Justin Allgaier
8. Eric McClure
9. Robert Richardson Jr.
10. Travis Pastrana
11. Nelson Piquet Jr.
12. Brad Keselowski
13. Kyle Larson
14. Regan Smith
15  Elliott Sadler
16. Matt Kenseth
17. Mike Harmon
18. Joe Nemechek
19. Brian Vickers
20. Kasey Kahne
21. Austin Dillon
22. Jeffrey Earnhardt
23. Mike Bliss
24. Jason White
25. Danny Efland
26. Michael Annett
27. Johanna Long
28. Hal Martin
29. Jamie Dick
30. Reed Sorenson
31. Trevor Bayne Cargill
32. Kyle Busch
33. Jeremy Clements
34. Mike Wallace
35. Kurt Busch
36. Danica Patrick
37. Juan Carlos Blum
38. Blake Koch
39. Scott Lagasse Jr.
40. Jeff Green
Tony Stewart's record-tying victory overshadowed by fan injuries Tony Stewart's record-tying victory overshadowed by fan injuries Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, February 23, 2013 Rating: 5