USAC's True Speed "Triple Crown" Guidelines Announced.

Due to the unique USAC National Championship structure in 2013, with separate USAC National Midget Pavement and Dirt Champions to be crowned, guidelines regarding the USAC True Speed Triple Crown Championship have been restructured and announced. The career achievement is acknowledged with a specially-crafted championship ring courtesy of True Speed Enterprises and USAC Triple Crown Champion Tony Stewart, who became the first to “sweep” the honors in a single year in 1995.

To enter the exclusive club of USAC Triple Crown Champions, a driver during his career must possess an overall championship in the three National categories, Silver Crown, Sprint and Midget.

Maintaining the integrity of the prestige of the USAC Triple Crown, which has only been achieved by five drivers in USAC‘s history, drivers in the 2013 National Midget series will earn eligibility meeting two criteria.

First, a driver must win either the dirt or pavement championship. In addition, the driver must compile the most points in total Midget competition. For the sole purpose of establishing this Triple Crown criteria, an overall National Midget Championship points tally will be maintained, utilizing total points combined on dirt and pavement.

Pancho Carter became the first driver to earn the Triple Crown designation, winning the Midget title in 1972, the Sprint in 1974 and 1976 and the Silver Crown in 1978. Tony Stewart won the 1994 Midget title and added all three championships in 1995. Dave Darland followed, winning the Silver Crown in 1997, Sprint in 1999 and Midget in 2001 and 2002. In 2001 J.J. Yeley won the Sprint title, came back in 2002 with the Silver Crown championship and then won all three in 2003. Jerry Coons Jr. joined the illustrious list with the 2006 and 2007 Midget titles and the 2008 Sprint and Silver Crown championships.

Currently active USAC drivers with two of the three Triple Crown legs to their credit include Tracy Hines (Silver Crown and Sprint), Levi Jones (Silver Crown and Sprint), Bryan Clauson (Sprint and Midget), Bobby East (Silver Crown and Midget) and Jason Leffler (Silver Crown and Midget).
USAC's True Speed "Triple Crown" Guidelines Announced. USAC's True Speed "Triple Crown" Guidelines Announced. Reviewed by Dirt Racing News on Monday, February 25, 2013 Rating: 5