Thursday, February 21, 2013

What you need to know about the Budweiser Duels

The Budweiser Duels qualifying races set the remainder of the field for the 55th Daytona 500 beyond the front row. Each Duel race is 150 miles (60 laps).

Here's how it works:
  • Danica Patrick, Daytona 500 pole winner, and Jeff Gordon, outside pole, will keep their front row starting spots regardless of where they finish in the Duels.
  • Based on their finishing position in the first Duel race, the top 15 drivers will line up on the inside row (odd-number starting positions) for the Daytona 500.
  • Based on their finishing position in the second Duel race, the top 15 drivers will line up on the outside row (even-number starting positions).
  • Positions 33-36 will go to the four fastest cars from qualifying that have not already clinched a spot.
  • Positions 37-42 are provisionals that will go to the highest six cars in 2012 owner points that have not yet qualified.
  • The 43rd starting position is the past-champion's provisional, which goes to the most recent eligible Sprint Cup champion who competed in 2012, or the next highest car in 2012 owner points.
The Budweiser Duels get under way today at 2 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on SPEED. Green flag for the first Duel race is scheduled for 2:19 p.m. ET.

The following is the starting lineups for the Budweiser Duels.

Budweiser Duel 1:

1. Danica Patrick
2. Trevor Bayne
3. Tony Stewart
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Joey Logano
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7. Juan Pablo Montoya
8. Casey Mears
9. Carl Edwards
10. Martin Truex Jr.
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Brad Keselowski
13. Kevin Harvick
14. Greg Biffle
15. David Gilliland
16. Michael Waltrip
17. Kurt Busch
18. Scott Speed
19. Regan Smith
20. Bobby Labonte
21. David Reutimann
22. Joe Nemechek
23. Brian Keselowski

Due to an engine change, Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start from the rear of the field.

Budweiser Duel 2:

1. Jeff Gordon
2. Ryan Newman
3. Kasey Kahne
4. Kyle Busch
5. Matt Kenseth
6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
7. Paul Menard
8. Austin Dillon
9. Clint Bowyer
10. Jeff Burton
11. Jamie McMurray
12. Marcos Ambrose
13. Aric Almirola
14. Mark Martin
15. David Ragan
16. Josh Wise
17. Michael McDowell
18. Terry Labonte
19. Dave Blaney
20. J.J. Yeley
21. Travis Kvapil
22. Mike Bliss

Tune into the 55th Daytona 500 on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET on FOX.


Post a Comment