AMSOIL Sprints Head For The "Burg" Saturday.

Tracy Hines of New Castle, Ind. continues his pursuit of the all-time record for AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car wins this Saturday when the series visits Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway. None of his 45 wins to date have come at the 3/8-mile dirt oval, although he did win a 2010 USAC National Midget race there.

Hines ranks third in the current standings and a win Saturday would tie him with Jack Hewitt on the all-time list at 46, six behind the leader Tom Bigelow. He trails series leader Hunter Schuerenberg by just seven points in the 2013 standings after winning a pair of races in February at Ocala, Fla.

Schuerenberg, of Sikeston, Mo., posted fourth and fifth-place finishes in last year’s Lawrenceburg races and had a third and two fifths in the three Ocala openers.

Chase Stockon of Sullivan, Ind. is second in the current standings, just four behind Schuerenberg going into Saturday’s race. Stockon and Justin Grant were the first-time winners in 2012 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint racing at Lawrenceburg.

Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind., however, holds the title of winningest USAC Sprint driver at the southeastern Indiana track. He has six victories there and his 82 total USAC National wins in three categories trail only Hines’ 85 among “active” USAC drivers.

Fourth ranking Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Ind. is tied with Hines, seven points back of Schuerenberg. Clauson is having a record-breaking USAC season so far and will seek his 10th USAC feature win Saturday at Lawrenceburg, which includes the 2013 Sprint opener at Ocala. 2013.

AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Point Standings: 1-Hunter Schuerenberg-182; 2-Chase Stockon-178; 3-Tracy Hines175, 4-Bryan Clauson-175; 5-Brady Bacon-167; 6-Dave Darland-160; 7-Robert Ballou-142; 8-Kevin Thomas Jr.-118; 9-C.J. Leary-112; 10-Scotty Weir-110.
AMSOIL Sprints Head For The "Burg" Saturday. AMSOIL Sprints Head For The "Burg" Saturday. Reviewed by Dirt Racing News on Monday, April 01, 2013 Rating: 5