Jeb Burton scores first NCWTS win at Texas Motor Speedway

Credit: Debbie Ross/Skirts and Scuffs
"I'm just a country boy from South Boston, living the dream."

Jeb Burton choked up a bit in victory lane as he thanked his team and sponsors. In just his 12th start, the son of 2002 Daytona 500 winner Ward Burton stole the WinStar World Casino 400 to score his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck victory.

Burton's crew chief, Mike Hillman Jr. said of Burton, "What he lacks in experience, he makes up for in talent." 

A visibly disappointed Ty Dillon led 76 laps and was closing fast in the last laps but just couldn't catch Burton, setting up one of the track's trademark close finishes. The 0.139-second margin of victory was the second-closest in Camping World Truck Series history. 

"Man, if we'd had just one more corner," Dillon said. "It's a heartbreaker. It hurts worse than the blown engine last week...I want that hat, I want those six-shooters, I've run real well here, it's about my time, isn't it? 

German Quiroga, three-time Mexican NASCAR Corona Series Champion, finished a career-best third, and acknowledged how different the racing is from what he's done before. "It's a totally different thing. We're driving lots faster, and I have lots to learn." 

Dillon and RCR teammate Brendan Gaughan dominated the early going, with Gaughan leading 44 laps. He finished fifth, right behind series points leader Matt Crafton. 

The race slowed three times for cautions, two for incidents involving Kyle Busch Motorsports entries. Chad Hackenbracht crashed on Lap 42 and Joey Coulter had a mechanical failure that caused him to wreck on Lap 53. Ross Chastain ran into trouble on Lap 139. 

Unofficial finishing order:
1   Jeb Burton
2   Ty Dillon
3   German Quiroga
4   Matt Crafton
5   Brendan Gaughan
6   Darrell Wallace, Jr.
7   Johnny Sauter
8   Ryan Blaney
9   James Buescher
10   Miguel Paludo
11   Dakoda Armstrong
12   Ron Hornaday, Jr.
13   Ross Chastain
14   Timothy Peters
15   John Wes Townley
16   Ryan Sieg
17   David Starr
18   Todd Bodine
19   Tyler Young
20   Brennan Newberry
21   Tim George, Jr.
22   Max Gresham
23   Norm Benning
24   Justin Jennings
25   Joey Coulter
26   Chad Hackenbracht
27   Jennifer Jo Cobb
28   Chris Cockrum
29   Chris Lafferty
30   Chris Jones
31   Danny Efland
32   Johnny Chapman

Jeb Burton scores first NCWTS win at Texas Motor Speedway Jeb Burton scores first NCWTS win at Texas Motor Speedway Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, June 08, 2013 Rating: 5