NNS Pole Report: Kyle Busch makes history at the Brickyard

Credit: Andy Lyons / Getty Images
Kyle Busch not only blew away the competition to claim the pole for today's Indiana 250 Nationwide race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, but also made history in the process.

With his lap of 179.644 mph (50.099 seconds), Busch claimed his 31st pole, becoming the record-holder for the most poles ever in the Nationwide Series.

Busch also set a new track record in winning his fifth series pole of the season. This puts him in position to try for his eighth win of the year.

Today's race marks the second year the Nationwide Series has run at the Brickyard. Rounding out the top 5 are Nationwide points leader Sam Hornish Jr., who won the 2006 Indianapolis 500; Trevor Bayne, Elliott Sadler and Parker Kligerman.

Travis Pastrana hit the wall during his qualifying lap and will move to a backup car. Joey Gase also wrecked during his lap and did not make the race.

The Indiana 250 will be broadcast today at 4:30 p.m. ET on ESPN. Green flag is scheduled to wave at 4:51 p.m.

Starting lineup:

1. Kyle Busch
2. Sam Hornish Jr.
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Elliott Sadler
5. Parker Kligerman
6. Brian Vickers
7. Austin Dillon
8. Nelson Piquet Jr.
9. Matt Kenseth
10. Paul Menard
11. Brian Scott
12. Kasey Kahne
13. Joey Logano
14. Justin Allgaier
15. Kevin Harvick
16. Regan Smith
17. Kyle Larson
18. Kevin Swindell
19. Michael Annett
20. David Starr
21. Mike Bliss
22. Cole Whitt
23. Kyle Fowler
24. Joe Nemechek
25. Ryan Sieg
26. Johanna Long
27. Tanner Berryhill
28. Reed Sorenson
29. Landon Cassill
30. Mike Wallace
31. Jeremy Clements
32. Josh Wise
33. Jeff Green
34. JJ Yeley
35. Ken Butler
36. Eric McClure
37. Robert Richardson Jr.
38. Alex Bowman
39. Travis Pastrana
40. David Green

Did Not Qualify: Matt Dibenedetto, Carl Long, Morgan Shepherd and Joey Gase.

NNS Pole Report: Kyle Busch makes history at the Brickyard NNS Pole Report: Kyle Busch makes history at the Brickyard Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Saturday, July 27, 2013 Rating: 5