Thursday, December 19, 2013

Checkered Past: Ken Schrader Starts the “Triple” List

Ken Schrader won the pole for the inaugural
Mudsummer Classic at Eldora in July 2013
credit: Getty Images/Tom Pennington
Veteran driver Ken Schrader may have left NASCAR competition behind after the 2013 season, but he's accomplished a great deal. While his win total is not as prolific as many – four wins in the Cup Series, two in Nationwide and one in the Camping World Truck Series – it's the fact he won in all three series, and was the first driver to do so, that makes those numbers special.

Schrader won his four Cup Series races in a four-year span from 1988 to 1991 while driving the No. 25 for Hendrick Motorsports. His first win came in 1988 at Talladega, which he followed up in 1989 with a victory at Charlotte. In 1991 he won at Atlanta and Dover. Another impressive statistic from that era of Schrader’s career: three straight Daytona 500 poles from 1988 to 1990. Schrader’s Nationwide Series victories came five seasons apart: at Dover in 1989 and Talladega in 1994.

Because of his wins in the top two tiers of NASCAR, when the Truck Series made its debut in 1995, he become a “triple threat” – a winner in all three top NASCAR series. Early in 1995, on April 15, Schrader raced at Saugus Speedway in California in the track’s only Truck Series race and took the checkered flag, becoming the first triple winner on a list that now includes 23 drivers, the most recent of which is Denny Hamlin.

The Truck Series also helped Schrader earn one more record before he left NASCAR for more dirt track racing and ARCA opportunities. At the inaugural Mudsummer Classic at Eldora Speedway in July 2013, Schrader won the pole with a track record speed of 91.329 mph and became the oldest pole winner in NASCAR history at age 58.

6 comments :

  1. Have always thought Schrader should have done more TV. (poo poo on speed/fox) The guy is naturally hilarious...Just listen to him tell any story & it gets funny..(experts may remember after he scarped a wall & yelling at the crew cheif how bad the car was, to which came the reply " what do ya want from me,you made the last adjustment on it") to hear Kenny tell that story is great & I for 1 will miss him at the track & interveiws etc..Best To Ya Kenny if you see this & Thx ..Earner

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete