Kevin Harvick wins Nationwide pole while Ty Dillon and Kyle Busch stuck in tech

Credit: Lisa Janine Cloud/Skirts and Scuffs
JR Motorsports dominated qualifying for the 18th Annual O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway Friday afternoon, with all four of the team's cars landing in the top six positions.

Kevin Harvick in the Hunt Brothers Pizza Chevy took the pole with a 29.195 second lap. Matt Kenseth followed closely in the Game Stop/Lego The Hobbit Toyota. Regan Smith put the Chevy in third, bumping boss Dale Earnhardt Jr. to fourth in the Ragu Camaro. Elliott Sadler squeezed into fifth with the OneMain Financial Camry, just .004 behind Earnhardt Jr. and .004 ahead of Chase Elliott in the NAPA Auto Parts Chevy.

Brendan Gaughan, Trevor Bayne, Ryan Blaney, and Dylan Kwasniewski rounded out the top 10.

Meanwhile, back in the garage, Ty Dillon, who was fastest in both practices yesterday, was unable to make a qualifying attempt because the No. 3 WESCO Chevy did not pass inspection. Defending race winner Kyle Busch and the No. 54 Monster Camry also missed qualifying because of tech issues, joined by Kyle Larson's No. 42 Cartwheel Chevy and Chris Buescher's No. 60 Roush Performance Parts Mustang. Busch will start 36th, Larson 37th, Dillon 38th, and Buescher in 39th.

According to NASCAR's Vice President of Competition Robin Pemberton, there were 17 violations of the camber and toe rules, with two or three weight- or height-related issues. This is the first year for the Nationwide Series to use the same inspection system as the Cup series, so Pemberton indicated there would not likely be any penalties issued by NASCAR.

"We'll work through it," Pemberton said, "and if there's something that needs to be adjusted team-wise or our-wise, but when we have rules that are new and we have a different way of measuring things from time to time, over the history for the sport, generally you have more isue up front in situations like this. This is new for the Nationwide Series."

Here's the complete starting order.

Car # Driver
1 5 Kevin Harvick
2 20 Matt Kenseth
3 7 Regan Smith
4 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr
5 11 Elliott Sadler
6 9 Chase Elliott
7 62 Brendan Gaughan
8 6 Trevor Bayne
9 22 Ryan Blaney
10 31 Dylan Kwasniewski
11 99 James Buescher
12 44 David Starr
13 2 Brian Scott
14 84 Chad Boat
15 19 Mike Bliss
16 16 Ryan Reed
17 93 J.J. Yeley
18 51 Jeremy Clements
19 1 Landon Cassill
20 40 Josh Wise
21 39 Ryan Sieg
22 76 Tommy Joe Martins
23 4 Jeffrey Earnhardt
24 87 Kevin Lepage
25 43 Dakoda Armstrong
26 55 Jamie Dick
27 52 Joey Gase
28 46 Matt DiBenedetto
29 14 Eric McClure
30 17 Tanner Berryhill
31 23 Robert Richardson
32 13 Mike Wallace
33 74 Mike Harmon
34 70 Derrike Cope
35 28 Derek White
36 54 Kyle Busch
37 42 Kyle Larson
38 3 Ty Dillon
39 60 Chris Buescher
Kevin Harvick wins Nationwide pole while Ty Dillon and Kyle Busch stuck in tech Kevin Harvick wins Nationwide pole while Ty Dillon and Kyle Busch stuck in tech Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Friday, April 04, 2014 Rating: 5