Will Power on the pole for Saturday's Firehawk 600

Will Power scored his second Verizon P1 award of the 2014 season with a blistering two-lap average of 218.896, knocking Josef Newgarden to P2 for Saturday's Verizon IndyCar Firehawk 600 at Texas Motor Speedway. The pole is Power's second in a row at the Great American Speedway, and the 34th of his career, moving him ahead of Dario Franchitti for sixth on the all-time list.

Newgarden's goal was a top-ten starting position; instead he laid down his career-best qualifying laps.

When the green flag flies Saturday night, 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan will start from inside the second row with Juan Pablo Montoya next to him in P4. Saturday's race marks Montoya's first race at TMS in an IndyCar after 14 NASCAR starts.

This year's Indy 500 polesitter, Ed Carpenter, rounds out the top five.

Power sits atop the Verizon IndyCar points standings with two wins in the seven races so far in the 2014 season, but he's not worried about points. The Team Penske driver says he's just focusing on the racing, that while points racing may work for some people, it just doesn't suit his personality.

Here's the starting order for the Firestone 600, broadcast on NBSCN beginning at 7:30 pm Saturday.

Rank  Driver Nbr Car Speed
1   Will Power 12 Chevrolet 218.896  
2   Josef Newgarden 67 Honda 217.835  
3   Tony Kanaan 10 Chevrolet 217.826  
4   Juan Pablo Montoya 2 Chevrolet 217.724  
5   Ed Carpenter 20 Chevrolet 217.677  
6   Simon Pagenaud 77 Honda 217.222  
7   Scott Dixon 9 Chevrolet 217.128  
8   Justin Wilson 19 Honda 217.007  
9   James Hinchcliffe 27 Honda 216.967  
10   Carlos Munoz 34 Honda 216.960  
11   Mikhail Aleshin 7 Honda 216.880  
12   Ryan Hunter-Reay 28 Honda 216.823  
13   Ryan Briscoe 8 Chevrolet 216.667  
14   Helio Castroneves 3 Chevrolet 216.591  
15   Charlie Kimball 83 Chevrolet 216.151  
16   Takuma Sato 14 Honda 215.376  
17   Marco Andretti 25 Honda 214.843  
18   Sebastien Bourdais 11 Chevrolet 214.108  
19   Sebastian Saavedra 17 Chevrolet 213.153  
20   Jack Hawksworth 98 Honda 212.411  
21   Graham Rahal 15 Honda 212.675  
22   Carlos Huertas 18 Honda 211.773  

Janine, aka Lisa or LJ, Cloud, a fifth-generation Texan, lives in Houston and considers Texas Motor Speedway her home track.

She's been a part of the Skirts and Scuffs team since May 2011, going from contributor to media rep, photographer, and associate editor covering both NASCAR and the Verizon IndyCar Series. Janine considers it a privilege to represent the site at the track and to share with readers the excitement of the world of motorsports.

Will Power on the pole for Saturday's Firehawk 600 Will Power on the pole for Saturday's Firehawk 600 Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Friday, June 06, 2014 Rating: 5