Friday, September 5, 2014

Brad Keselowski earns his fourth pole in 2014; joins Kevin Harvick for major repeat "offenders"

Brad Keselowski earned his fourth pole of the season
The new NASCAR qualifying format was designed to be more entertaining for the fans, but as the season has progressed a familiar pattern is emerging - there is a small group of drivers who get it in a big way. Leading that small group is Kevin Harvick with six poles, followed by Brad Keselowski, who took the top spot for tomorrow evening's Federated Auto Parts 400, with four poles. Until this year, Keselowski only had three poles his entire career.

Is this notable pattern a factor of this new qualifying format or is it just a matter of having fast cars week in and week out? Both says Keselowski. "I think it is two things happening at once. The format is certainly helpful and certainly feels more representative of what it takes to be successful. It used to be more of just going out there and bonsai, and if it is good, it sticks. I think with this format you have to be much more calculated and think ahead a lot more and you are rewarded for that," he said.

But Keselowski doesn't discount the significance of consistently having fast cars. "I feel like Kevin (Harvick) would probably tell you the same as I would that my cars are significantly faster this year in qualifying trim than they ever have been. When you combine that with this format perhaps suiting our style a little better it is kind of a double whammy," Keselowki added.

Keselowski shares the front row with Jeff Gordon.

Television coverage from Richmond International Raceway begins with NSCS Countdown at 7 p.m. on ABC.

Starting Lineup:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Carl Edwards
  11. Denny Hamlin
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Danica Patrick
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Matt Kenseth
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Brian Vickers 
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. Kyle Busch
  21. Kasey Kahne
  22. Casey Mears
  23. AJ Allmendinger
  24. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  25. Alex Bowman
  26. Aric Almirola
  27. Justin Allgaier
  28. Austin Dillon
  29. Martin Truex Jr.
  30. David Gilliland
  31. David Stremme
  32. Reed Sorenson
  33. Marcos Ambrose
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Cole Whitt
  36. Josh Wise
  37. Travis Kvapil
  38. JJ Yeley
  39. Mike Bliss
  40. Michael Annett
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. David Ragan
  43. Ryan Truex
Did not qualify: Clay Rogers


Post a Comment