Saturday, April 25, 2015

Denny Hamlin dominates ToyotaCare 250 for Toyota’s100th NASCAR Xfinity Series win

Credit:Matt Sullivan/NASCAR via Getty Images 

For two weeks in a row NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers won the NASCAR Xfinity Series race in a dominant fashion. This week native Virginian Denny Hamlin took the checkered flag after earning  the pole position. It was Hamlin’s 12th NASCAR Xfinity Series win, his first of the season and his third at Richmond. The victory was the 100th for Toyota in the Xfinity Series.

Hamlin was excited for the win, but felt his restarts could have been better. 

“You want to run well when you literally grew up right down the road. During my restarts I felt I wasn’t getting through the gears well. You can’t be greedy, though you just don’t have weekends like this weekend,” he said.

There were only four lead changes during the 250-lap race, with Elliott Sadler and Brian Scott leading one lap each.

The race was also marked by a pit road fire in during the second caution of the race. A spark ignited spilled fuel behind the car of Brendan Gaughan. Flames engulfed rear tire changer Anthony O’Brien, but fortunately the fire was quickly extinguished. O’Brien, Gaughan’s fueler, Josh Wittman, and Clifford Turner, a crew member form Eric McClure’s team, were taken to a local hospital for treatment and observation as a result of the incident.

The unofficial results:
  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Regan Smith
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Daniel Suarez
  7. Brian Scott
  8. Austin Dillon
  9. Ty Dillon
  10. Landon Cassill
  11. Brendan Gaughan
  12. Darrell Wallce Jr.
  13. Brennan Poole
  14. Jeremy Clements
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Elliott Sadler
  17. Ross Chastain
  18. Kevin Harvick
  19. JJ Yeley
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Ryan Reed
  22. Harrison Rhodes
  23. Mike Bliss
  24. Blake Koch
  25. Cale Conley
  26. Joey Gase
  27. Dakoda Armstrong
  28. Dylan Lupton
  29. David Starr
  30. Brandon Gdovic
  31. Ryan Sieg
  32. Peyton Sellers
  33. Jimmy Weller
  34. Carlos Contreras
  35. Derrike Cope
  36. Eric McClure
  37. Carl Long
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Mike Harmon
  40. Jeff Green