Kurt Busch Wins Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway

Credit: Carol D'Agostino/Skirts and Scuffs

After waiting a day to run the Toyota Owners 400, NASCAR fans were treated to a rare day race at Richmond International Raceway. After a dominant performance, Kurt Busch and the No. 41 team celebrated in Victory Lane.

Busch has run well since his reinstatement and return at Phoenix International Raceway in March, coming close to victory a couple times, but today he and crew chief Tony Gibson pulled out a flawless win, securing a spot in the Chase.

Busch led the most laps with 291, which is also a career high. This win is his second victory and 11th top-10 finish in 29 career Cup starts at Richmond International Raceway.

Busch said the key to getting to Victory Lane was focusing on his driving style and acknowledging the importance of working as a team.  

“Victory Lane is Victory Lane. At this point in my career I understand that wins are a total team effort. In order for me to win I need to go slower to go faster,” he said.

The race featured very few lead changes and leaders, and a solid performance from Justin Allgaier who finished 18th, coming off an eighth place finish last week at Bristol Motor Speedway. Allgaier ran as high as second.

The unofficial results:
1.     Kurt Busch  
2.     Kevin Harvick  
3.     Jimmie Johnson  
4.     Jamie McMurray  
5.     Joey Logano  
6.     Kasey Kahne  
7.     Matt Kenseth  
8.     Jeff Gordon  
9.     Clint Bowyer  
10. Martin Truex Jr.  
11. Ryan Newman  
12. Kyle Larson  
13. AJ Allmendinger  
14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.  
15. Paul Menard  
16. Chase Elliott  
17. Brad Keselowski  
18. Justin Allgaier  
19. Carl Edwards  
20. Aric Almirola  
21. Greg Biffle  
22. Denny Hamlin  
23. David Ragan  
24. Trevor Bayne  
25. Danica Patrick  
26. Landon Cassill  
27. Austin Dillon  
28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.  
29. Brett Moffitt  
30. Casey Mears  
31. David Gilliland  
32. Alex Bowman  
33. Michael Annett  
34. Reed Sorenson  
35. Sam Hornish Jr.  
36. Cole Whitt  
37. Matt DiBenedetto   
38. Jeb Burton  
39. Alex Kennedy  
40. Jeff Green  
41. Tony Stewart  
42. Josh Wise  
       43. Joey Gase
Kurt Busch Wins Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway Kurt Busch Wins Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway Reviewed by Carol D'Agostino on Sunday, April 26, 2015 Rating: 5