Erik Jones dominates in NCWTS win at Texas

credit: Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs
One down, two to go.

Erik Jones dominated the WinStar World Casino and Resort 350 at Texas Motor Speedway, earning his first victory at the Great American Speedway. The 19-year-old Kyle Busch Motorsports driver led 117 of 147 laps.

“We’ve went through a lot of ups and downs these past couple of months and trying to get back into this championship hunt and getting our Tundra back in there," exclaimed Jones. "It’s pretty awesome, a swing up and it’s nice to get back in victory lane here at Texas, a place I love."

Jones, who received his high school diploma onstage in the TMS infield in June, 2014, will race in the Xfinity and the Sprint Cup races this weekend, the youngest driver to do triple duty.

Teammate Daniel Suarez made it a 1-2 KBM finish with his second runner-up performance in a row. This time, Suarez wasn’t satisfied with second.

“The first time I got second, I was happy. Now I’m not happy any more,” he said. “Who knows, maybe tomorrow is our day.”

Suarez will also drive in the Xfinity Series O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge Saturday afternoon.
Ryan Blaney finished third in the Cooper Standard Careers for Veterans Ford, with polesitter Matt Crafton behind him. Tyler Reddick finished fifth, which dashed his hopes for gaining on points leaders Jones and Crafton.  

The race went almost caution-free. A single yellow slowed the race for only five laps, setting a new track record for the time of the race - a snappy one hour, 25 minutes, 30 seconds for the 350 miles.

Unofficial Results:
1. Erik Jones
2. Daniel Suarez
3. Ryan Blaney 
4. Matt Crafton
5. Tyler Reddick
6. Timothy Peters
7. Brandon Jones
8. Christopher Bell
9. Ben Kennedy
10. Cameron Hayley
11. John Hunter Nemechek
12. Spencer Gallagher
13. Johnny Sauter
14. Daniel Hemric
15. Jesse Little
16. Jeb Burton
17. John Wes Townley
18. Mason Mingus
19. Ray Black, Jr.
20. Timmy Hill
21. Jordan Anderson
22. Korbin Forrister
23. Tyler Young 
24. Jennifer Jo Cobb 
25. Justin Jennings
26. Travis Kvapil
27. Norm Benning
28. Todd Peck
29. Dexter Stacey
30. Mike Harmon
31. Tyler Tanner
32. Caleb Roark

Erik Jones dominates in NCWTS win at Texas Erik Jones dominates in NCWTS win at Texas Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Friday, November 06, 2015 Rating: 5