NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Eliminator Round Closer at Phoenix

Track Classification: Short Track
Similar Tracks: Bristol Motor Speedway • Dover International Speedway 
Martinsville Speedway • Richmond International Raceway
Distance: 1 Mile

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
All with 4 - Kevin Harvick, Ryan Newman and Kurt Busch  
All with 3 - Greg Biffle, Joey Logano and Kasey Kahne

By Track
Kevin Harvick - 7
All with 6 - Brad Keselowski, Ryan Newman and Jeff Gordon
All with 5 - Kasey Kahne, Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Joey Logano, Kyle Busch and Kurt Busch

Recent Pole Winners:
2014 Denny Hamlin
2013 Jimmie Johnson

The Likely Suspects: It's getting to nail-biting time for NASCAR fans, and desperado time for drivers hoping to join Jeff Gordon in the championship race. I recommend focusing your picks on these drivers this week: Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch.

My 2 Cents: Hopefully this all-important final race to the Eliminator Round won't be marred by the tire issues we saw last week at Texas. My no-brainer pick is Joey Logano. I used my last Kevin Harvick start last week, but if I hadn't, Kevin Harvick would have been my #1 pick. My next choices are Kyle Busch, Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Jamie McMurray and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. I will round out my team with Erik Jones and Justin Allgaier.

My final four: Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, Greg Biffle and Erik Jones.

Points to ponder:
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Phoenix with nine, followed by Roush Fenway Racing with seven.
  • There have been 23 different NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race winners at Phoenix. Eight have won more than once, led by Kevin Harvick, with seven: ’06 spring race and Chase race, ’12 Chase race, ‘13 Chase race, ’14 spring race and Chase race, ’15 spring race.
  • Five drivers have won consecutive races at Phoenix: Davey Allison (1991,1992); Jeff Burton (2000, 2001); Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2003, 2004); Kevin Harvick (swept 2006) and (2013 Chase race, swept 2014 and ’15 spring race); Jimmie Johnson (fall 2007, swept 2008).
  • Eight of the 38 (21%) NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Phoenix have been won from the front row: five from the pole and three from second-place.
Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter at @purplecatpr.
NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Eliminator Round Closer at Phoenix NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Eliminator Round Closer at Phoenix Reviewed by Carol D'Agostino on Thursday, November 12, 2015 Rating: 5